Real Ice Cream

I’ve started shopping recently at a little market called Figueroa Produce.  They’re located in Highland Park (or is it Garvanza, I can’t tell) on a busy little corner across from a park.  They have Jones’ Coffee, the best (and cheapest!) beef jerky around, and raw whole milk from Organic Pastures for less than Whole Foods!  They also sell organic produce from the South Central Farmers and grass-fed beef from Open Space Meats.  Finally, their price on GT’s Kombucha is better than I’ve seen it anywhere.

But here’s what I want to talk about.  Figueroa Produce carries ice cream from McConnell’s in Santa Barbara.

I brought home some coffee ice cream last night.  Here’s the ingredient list:

  • Fresh Cream
  • Milk Solids
  • Sugar
  • Egg yolks
  • Coffee

That’s it!  Nothing else.  No soy lecithin, no high fructose corn syrup, and no yellow No. 5!  A week or two ago, I brought home some pumpkin ice cream.  Can you guess what was in there?  Yup – replace coffee with pumpkin and you’ve got it right.

This ice cream is sooo good!  It tastes right!!  Not like a snickers bar.

I’ve emailed them to see if they could make a version that is sweetened with stevia or agave syrup for those of us who are trying to avoid refined sugars.  Yes, I understand that this is somewhat of an ironic move; but hey, why not ask, right?

McConnell’s has a brick store in Santa Barbara.  Next time, Ryan and I are out that way, we’ll definitely make a stop there for a cafe affogato!

Leave a comment