34 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 34 weeks, I’m getting a few more non-exercise-induced Braxton Hicks contractions. About one per day or so. Instead of getting them when I walk up a hill or up stairs, I’ll have just been sitting around and I get one! So strange!

Sleeping on my side is becoming less comfortable and reflux has gotten worse. Consequently, my sleep is more fitful and my days are full of more fatigue (could be lack of sleep and could be just third trimester stuff). Also, calf cramps have increased. Should I increase my magnesium intake?

Also, I just noticed very mild stretch marks on the bottom side of my ever-growing belly. More coconut oil!!

FOOD

At 34 weeks, I’m still eating mostly gluten-free, grain-free, low-carb primal. I eat dairy; so I can’t really call it paleo. I’m still eating high-fat nutrient-dense real foods. I’m taking enzymes, probiotics, and vitamin C and D. I ran out of my Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules. I need to order more!

I haven’t started the Evening Primrose Oil, as per my mid-wife’s suggestion. I’m not quite sold on that notion of “ripening my uterus” yet.

ACTIVITY

February 28, 2012

I attended KB Technique class again. I always love it. Here’s what I did…

  • 5 rounds of: 30 seconds jumping jacks (1/2 pace) / 30 sec KB figure-8s w/ 18#
  • 20/15/10 FT of: single hand alt KB swing w/ 18# / ring rows (mod) / wall push-ups => 6:33
  • 10 rounds NFT of: 2 each leg box pistols w/ 18#
  • 3 rounds NFT of: 10 wall-supported 1-arm rows (each arm) w/ 26# / 10 1-arm floor press (each arm) w/ 18#

The jumping jacks felt a little funny, so I did them half pace. With the figure-8s, I dropped the KB a few times. It’s hard to get deep enough and keep my chest up and still do them because of my belly and the length of my arms; so I end up crouching over a bit. It’s not perfect.

The 20/15/10 was fine.

I hate pistols.

I am tired today.

March 1, 2012

Walked one (1) mile. Walked very slowly.

Carried two large storage tubs (apron 25# each) up two flights of stairs. The tubs have the birth pool and extras in them.

That’s enough for today.😉

March 3, 2012

Here’s the WOD:

  • Warm Up – Coaches Choice
  • Tyler – 5 RFT of: 7 Muscle Up’s/21 SDHP (95/65)
Here’s what I did…
  • Warm Up – 3:00m row => 579m
  • (Modified) Tyler – 5 RFT of: 7 pull-ups / 7 ring dips / 21 SDHP (65#) => 19:01
  • Tabata Air Squats = 81

My row was definitely slower than normal. No new PRs for me until after the babe is born.😉

For Tyler, I used one green band and one blue band on the pull-ups. My ring dips were leg-assisted. SDHP were Rx. Rawr.

On the Tabata Air Squats, I kept pretty consistent at around 10 per round. Preggie’s slowing down!

Still, it was a great workout and Coach Tami from Crossfit 718 got some great pictures of me too!

Gilliebean doing Sumo Deadlift High Pulls (65 lbs) at nearly 35 weeks preggie!

Gilliebean doing Sumo Deadlift High Pulls (65 lbs) at nearly 35 weeks preggie!

Gilliebean doing Sumo Deadlift High Pulls (65 lbs) at nearly 35 weeks preggie!

Gilliebean doing band-assisted pull-ups at nearly 35 weeks preggie!

Gilliebean doing band-assisted pull-ups at nearly 35 weeks preggie!

March 5, 2012

Short KB workout at home.

20 / 15 / 10 NFT of: KB Swings / wall-supported 1-arm rows (each arm) / goblet squats / right-arm high pull / left-arm high pull

All movements with 15# KB.

Felt good to get moving!

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a photo!

Gilliebean at 34 Weeks Preggie!

And here’s a video that made me cry.

4 Responses to 34 WEEKS PREGGIE

  1. Joy says:

    Midwives have varying opinions on using evening primrose oil. Some have all clients use it orally, as standard procedure to ripen the cervix beginning at some point in third trimester. Others use it for perineal massage to help stretch perineum and soften cervix. Others consider it strong enough to be reserved for a natural induction regimen instead of general use. The general rule is it’s not supposed to be strong enough to induce labor unless your body is actually close to being ready for labor anyway. My opinion is it shouldn’t be used until you are full term enough where IF your body reacted strongly to it and it initiated labor, your baby would be developed enough and you would be far along enough to still have the birth you want.

    I had one friend who only gained 5 lbs during pregnancy (she was thin to begin with, and had hyperemesis, so it wasn’t like she had much on her frame to give the baby), and her baby was born two weeks early and only weighed five pounds. 38 weeks and five pounds is unusual. She had been taking evening primrose oil internally and externally for several weeks. In my opinion, it should not have been used on her, since she already had a small, undernourished baby who needed to stay inside as long as possible, so anything that could possibily have contributed to an early labor should have been avoided. But I’m not a midwife; that’s just my opinion.

    I would definitely begin taking it around 40 or 41 weeks if my cervix was still very firm and closed, because in Texas, we can only use a midwife at home through 42 weeks, so I would be doing whatever I could naturally to get labor going prior to 42 weeks.

    However, natural prostaglandins (found in hubby’s sperm) are THE most effective for softening cervix safely. Sperm is the single most concentrated source of prostaglandins that we have, even barring prescription medical prostaglandin gels that are placed on the cervix to induce labor. But amazingly, your body will only react to sperm prostaglandins if it is ready. Especially by 38, 39 weeks, you might lose chunks of cervical mucus plug the day after intercourse for this exact reason – the sperm naturally and gently softened the cervix enough for bits of the mucus plug to be released. But again, your body responds to it so gently that intercourse is not a concern for premature labor.

    • gilliebean says:

      Thank you Joy! I’m not concerned about delivering later than 40 weeks. And in New York, I can deliver at home after 40 weeks, so I don’t have that concern. Yay!

      Also, since I have no idea how my uterus will react, I’m holding off.

  2. OneFitMom says:

    I used it, on the advice of my midwife. It was a rather expensive habit and the baby *still* came nine days late🙂

Leave a Reply

