24 WEEKS PP

ME

It just occurred to me that because “postpartum” is one word, the title “24 WEEKS PP” is terribly inaccurate. It should be “24 WEEKS P!” Oh well.

I’ve been really tired. I’ve all but stopped napping during her morning nap, but I’m really starting to think I should try to again. I’m surprised at how much “making milk” and nursing is taxing on my body. It really is an energy drain. That said, I do love it. Nursing your own little babe is such a joyful experience. I highly recommend for the relational building aspect of it, not to mention the nutritional benefits!

 

THE BABE

She is amazing. She’s starting to push up onto her hands and knees, instinctually!

Also, has anyone noticed that she hasn’t been sick? At all!?  w00t!

 

MY WORKOUTS

I went to CrossFit on Saturday, as per the usual.

Here’s the WOD:

  • 200M Run
  • 7 Rounds of: Sprint 40 Yards
  • Front Squat- 5/5/5/5/5 (HAP/20 Minute Cap)
  • Power Clean- 10 Minutes to Establish a Heavy Double (Touch & Go)
  • 12 Minute AMRAP of: 5 P.Cl(135/95)/5 each Bar Racked Lunge(135/95)/15 HRPU

Here’s what I did:

  • 200 m run…

I think it took me 1 minute? I’m pretty happy with that, considering that my ligaments are still not all the way fixed yet.

  • 3 rounds of: run, sprint 40 yards

I was averaging about 8.5 seconds. I only did three rounds because my ligaments were hurting.

  • 3 rounds of: row, spring 100 meters

I don’t remember my times, but I remember that my pace was under 2:00/500m for each sprint. Like, 1:57 or so.

  • Front Squats => 5×65, 5×75, 5×75, 4×85

Didn’t go as deep on the last set.

  • Power Cleans => 2×45, 2×65, 2×75, 2×80

I’m so disgusted because I found Power Cleans so easy before I got pregnant and even during my pregnancy! My 1RM was only 110#, but even the heavy weight felt like something reasonable to attempt. But after having delivered the baby, Power Cleans seem like the strangest movement ever. Grrr… I wonder if it’s related to the ligament issues?

  • 9 MIN AMRAP => 2 rounds + P.Cl + Lunges + 8 h.r.p.u.

I had 45# on the bar. The Cleans were easy. The Lunges were challenging. I’m still doing modified push ups.

I’m feeling stronger after my pregnancy but I’m still not 100%. I’m  annoyed that it’s taking so long to “bounce” back. But confident that I will be able to return to my previous strength and conditioning numbers eventually.

 

FINAL NOTES

I think I will continue the weekly posts until Olivia is six months old. Then I will switch up my format.

Here’s a picture!

Ryan with Olivia at 24 Weeks!

 

Leave a Reply

