33 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 33 weeks, the babe is still getting hiccups at least once daily. Also, he or she is still moving a bunch after I eat. Every so often the babe tries to stretch out and my belly looks like a football for about a minute or so. It’s hilarious!

My cold symptoms are gone. Yay! I am blessed to have the time and freedom to rest as needed during this pregnancy. I know that many women have to keep working up until they go into active labour and I am relieved to not be one of those women. I work, but it’s at home, at my desk, with no supervisors, near my living room; so I can take a nap when I need to do so.

On Friday night, I had an ache in the bottom right side of my uterus for about four hours. I wasn’t sure if it was the two to three hours of driving I did (unusual for me since I moved to NYC *and* since getting preggie) or if it was the half a mug of chamomile tea I had before I remembered that preggies aren’t supposed to drink chamomile tea (because it stimulates the uterus and can contribute to pre-term labour!)! I put a hot pad on the sore spot for 15 minutes and when I woke up in the morning it was fine.

FOOD

At 33 weeks, after a few days of low-ish carb and a few high-carb days, my poofiness is less fat and more pregnant. Whew! I’m going to continue to restrict carbs on a cyclical basis in order to maintain my health and to try to avoid a “too large” baby. My mother visited this weekend and she said that I’m looking lovely and healthy. She may be biased; but she’s always been honest with me about how I’m looking (for the sake of my own health and happiness, of course), so I trust her judgement. 😉

We had Oscar Night here last night and I had all gluten-free snacks, but they were not all paleo. Just being honest…

I started taking the Vitamin C for the cold symptoms and have continued because of my midwife’s suggestion (re strengthening the amniotic sack). I’m not yet at 34 weeks, so I haven’t started the Evening Primrose Oil (also her recommendation, to help ripen the uterus). I’m still taking Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

February 21, 2012

Today I did the Kettlebell Technique class again. I love it! Here’s what I did:

  • 400 m run => 2:45
  • 50 Goblet Squats FT w/ 18# => 1:32
  • 5 rounds FT of: 1 rope climb (mod) / 20 KB swings (US) w/ 26# / 7 pull ups (with green band) / 15 KB high pull w/ 26# => 14:40
  • 4 rounds of: 45 seconds of max effort rope stuff
  • 5 Turkish Get-ups, each arm (unweighted)

I got a Braxton Hicks contraction during the run. Oops.

I think I might have done 60 Goblet Squats; but I wasn’t going as deep as I should on account of my new pants that kinda restricted my range of motion. I won’t wear those pants anymore. Bad pants!

Regarding the MetCon: I was really happy with the fact that I actually *did* the modified rope climb. This is the first time since getting preggie.

And, this is the first time I’ve done Turkish Get-ups! Ever!! Thanks to Coach Iz for the brilliant idea to do them unweighted. Seriously. I hadn’t thought of that. Now I’ve done them. And I feel proud.

Also, thanks to Coach Iz for being careful with me today. As much as I put on a macho front, I am highly aware of what I can and can’t do and I appreciate you always checking with me to make sure that I’m comfortable.

February 25, 2012

Here’s today’s WOD:

  • For Time: 100 Jumping Jacks
  • For Time: 50 Squats (75/45) / 5 Rope Climb / 40 Squats (75/45) / 4 Rope Climb / 30 Squats (75/45) / 3 Rope Climb / 20 Squats (75/45) / 2 Rope Climb / 10 Squats  (75/45) / 1 Rope Climb
  • Axel Clean and Jerk: 3/3/3 (Max Effort)

And here’s what I did!

  • 100 jumping jacks FT => 1:27
  • 50 back sq / 5 mod rope climbs / 40 sq / 4 rope / 30 sq / 3 rope / 20 sq / 2 rope / 10 sq / 1 rope FT => 18:05
  • Axle Grip Clean & Jerks => (wu 3×25) 3×45, 3×60, 3×75
I didn’t really scale a thing! Sure, I was doing the modified rope climb but so were most of the other peeps. I felt like I could have done heavier Axle Grip Clean & Jerks (with the fat bar) but I didn’t want to tucker myself out. Still… Yay!

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a photo that I took myself…

Gilliebean at 33 Weeks Preggie!

Leave a comment