25 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 25 weeks, I’m starting to feel the weight of my baby and uterus. Turning over in bed is like a HIIT workout or like parallel parking in LA (17-point turn anyone!?). I had mild nausea on Christmas morning and with no idea why I guess I’d have to blame that on pregnancy, but who knows. It could have been food-related. I am definitely feeling the extra blood – I get short of breath much easier than before and my temperature seems to run higher than before. That said, neither are in the “iron deficiency” or “core temperature too high” ranges. Just enough for me to remember that I’m making and carting around more blood; and that that blood needs to be oxygenated. Otherwise, I feel pretty normal. Some days when I’m sitting at my desk, I forget that I have a belly. Until I get KICKED! Which is still happening rather frequently. The other day, after lunch, I lay down to count the kicks. I counted about 30 after 15 minutes, and then promptly fell sleep for a mid-afternoon nap. Yay for Christmas vacation!

FOOD

At 25 weeks, I’m deep in the middle of Christmas week and haven’t reached New Year’s yet. I didn’t bring any of my braunschweiger or sauerkraut with me. Sad. I tried the non-pastured eggs at my in-laws house but they started doing a number on me (food allergies) after a few days, so I gave those up. I had a few gluten things on Christmas day, just some stuffing and a sweet potato biscuit, but that opened the door for cheating for the entire rest of the week. And my food-allergy-related rashes came back with vengeance. Sad. After that, I did my best to eat low-carb, full-fat (primal) even though I wasn’t eating paleo, and to remind myself that I can control what’s in my cupboard when I return to my own home (which I did yesterday).

I’m still taking Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Vitamin D, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

After Christmas day, it was hard to motivate my husband and my father to join me outside for a morning run… So the rest of the week was kind of a wash. But today, my first day back in Brooklyn, I went back to my CrossFit gym and PR’d on the rower. Take that Christmas!! Ha!

January 2, 2011

Here’s the WOD:

  • Row 500M
  • Squat- 5/5/3/3/1/1
  • 15 min AMRAP of: 21 Ball Slam(15/20)/15 Wall Ball (14/20)/9 each arm K.B. OHS (12/20kg)
Here’s what I did…
  • Row 500m => 2:13 (PR!)
I actually wasn’t trying for a PR. In fact, I was taking it easy because of my “condition” and because it’d been two weeks since a WOD! When I finished, I looked at my previous PR and realized I’d beat it! Woot!
  • Back Squats => (WU 10×15, 5×45) 5×65, 5×75, 3×85, 3×95, 1×105, 1×115

My 1RM is 135. I’m working on maintaining depth while not bending forward too far. Also, preggie-belly prohibits my core strength from maintaining my range of motion; so it affects how deep I can go and stay stable. So I didn’t push too hard today on the weight.

  • 15 min AMRAP => 2 rounds + 21 Ball Slams + 15 Wall Balls

I wanted to do this Rx so badly! But I couldn’t do the KB OHS with the prescribed weight. So I scaled. Then I found that KB OHS was difficult for me in general because of my preggie-belly anyway; so I sub’d Goblet Squats (at 12 kg). I did the Ball Slams at 10# and the Wall Balls at 12#.

My heart rate hit 150 a few times during the MetCon but I didn’t get dizzy this time!

All in, I’m pretty happy with my first WOD in two weeks.

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a photo from my Christmas Baby Shower!

Ryan and Gillie, 25 Weeks Preggie!

Leave a Reply

