28 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 28 weeks… The kicking baby is *really* starting to keep me awake at night! Is “alien belly” a pregnancy symptom? If so, I’m very pregnant. I’ve hit the stage where my child seems like s/he is moving furniture around in there!

I haven’t done any running so my round ligaments haven’t been complaining too much. I haven’t noticed much swelling this week, although my skin is more sensitive in general. I shaved my legs on Sunday and my skin was *not* happy with me that night.

I got a compliment on my hair recently. So full and long and curly, she said! Must be the prenatal vitamins, she said. I explained that it’s actually because the hair doesn’t fall out as much during pregnancy. So my hair gets “thicker”! Still fun though…

FOOD

At 28 weeks, I’m eating more fish and less red meat. I feel a little puffier this week than last week, likely because of the increased carbs last week that were consumed to help me pass the BG test. And I did “pass” the BG test! Yay! So now I can go back to my mod- to low-carb ways. We also just got a 26 lb order of grass-fed beef, compassionate-raised pork and grass-fed lamb! It was only $4/lb. Awesome! I’m still eating braunschweiger and liverwurst, plus chicken broth, and *real* sauerkraut. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m trying to follow the recommendations listed here by Chris Masterjohn. I do get some rice and corn in my diet, occasionally.

I’m still taking my Vitamin D, Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

January 18, 2011

I didn’t do the actual WOD today; but they’ve started this thing called Open Gym where you can come in and work on goats, or double-unders, or just row or do a WOD of your own design. So I went in with a WOD of my own design! Coach-approached of course!😉

Here’s what I did…

  • WU: 3 x 1min max effort => 235m, 240m, 248m

The last row was 3m shy of my PR!

  • Thrusters: (WU 3×35) 3×50, 3×60, 3×70

These felt heavy but doable.

  • 5 rnds NFT: 3 power cleans @ 75# / 15 KB swings @ 26# / 15 ring rows
Here’s two photos!

Gilliebean doing KB Swings @ 28 Weeks Preggie!

Gilliebean doing Modified Ring Rows at 28 Weeks Preggie!

I felt a little unsteady with the 75# during the first two sets, but the third last sets I found my rhythm with the power cleans. This met-con was exhausting for my arms. Heart rate was good the whole time.

  • Wall Planks: 1x2min unbroken, 1x1min unbroken
  • 15 / 20 / 25 Pelvic Tilts

Overall, this felt great. I’m glad they’ve started this Open Gym thing. It’ll help me keep going through-out my third trimester when the daily WODs seem to difficult to modify or scale.😉

January 19, 2012

Didn’t get to the gym today, but I did do a small 15-minute KB workout at home. This will look familiar.

  • 21 / 15 / 9 NFT of: Air Squats / KB High Pull one arm (each arm) @ 10# / KB Swing @ 25#
  • 41 Good Mornings (no weight)
  • 41 Pelvic Tilts

This workout got my heart rate up a little and made me mildly sweaty. It also ate up some blood sugar. All in, I’d call it a success.😉

January 20, 2012

I was able to do everything but one thing in today’s WOD. Here’s what was prescribed…

  • For Time: 100 Russian K.B. Swings (12/20kg)
  • OHS – 3/3/3/3/3 Max Effort
  • GHR – 15/15/15/15
  • Good Mornings – 15/15/15/15 (45/75)
Here’s what I did!
  • 100 KB Swings American-style for time @ 12kg => 4:10
Coach Dan said that everybody else had done American-style KB swings even thought it had been posted on the blog as Russian-style.
  • OHS: (WU 10×15, 5×35) 3×45, 3×50, 3×60, 2×65, Fail

I was getting deeper in my squats than usual. Yay!

But I just couldn’t keep 65# above my head. :(

Then, instead of GHRs I did cat-cows.

  • Cat-Cows: 15 / 15 / 15 / 15
  • Good Mornings @ 45#: 15 / 15 / 15 / 15

We alternated 15 cat-cows, then 15 gms and so on… Felt good!

January 23, 2012

Today, the WOD was ridiculous so I stayed in and did my special KB workout on my own before lunch:

  • 21 / 15 / 9 NFT of: Air Squats / KB High Pull one arm (each arm) @ 10# / KB Swing @ 25#
  • 45 Good Mornings (no weight)
  • 20 Pelvic Tilts
I should think of something else. Ha!

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a photo!

Gilliebean at 28 Weeks Preggie!

Also, my hubby and I just did a pregnancy photo shoot yesterday. I’ll put up a special post with some of my favourite photos very soon.🙂

Leave a Reply

