27 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 27 weeks, my round ligament issues are present but not nearly as bad as last week. I’m getting better at recognizing when I’m gonna hurt them and stopping what I’m doing. And they’re still recovering quickly. So that’s good. I haven’t run since last week, but I’ve been doing low-carb days and KB workouts and that seems to be working in lieu of running.

My ribs have been aching this week. The babe is looking for more room! And yes, the babe kicks at least three times after each meal. S/he is well-behaved in that way. Ha! I am getting mildly swollen if I sit for long periods on a hard chair, so I don’t do that anymore. And I’m trying to drink even more water. None of the other typical pregnancy symptoms have changed much throughout my second trimester other than what I’ve mentioned.

FOOD

At 27 weeks, I’m doing pretty well with the transition to more fish and less red meat. I’ve got my 28 weeks blood test for iron coming up and I’m pretty sure I’ll ace it. I’ve been eating a few more carbs this week in preparation for my BG test coming up at my 28 week visit too. This morning, I did another practice BG test and I aced it. So I’m feeling confident for that too. Yay for proper hormone management!

I’m still taking my Vitamin D, Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

A few mornings back, I recorded my resting heart rate. It was 63. That’s a little higher than in the beginning of my pregnancy but still very good. Yay!

January 10, 2011

I didn’t do the actual WOD today. It was all about muscle-ups and pistols – which are really hard for me. Any other preggies have trouble with pistols? They had a Kettlebell Technique class on the calendar and so I took that instead.

It. Was. Awesome.

Here’s the workout:

  • 3 rounds of 1 min max effort rope undulation
  • 3 min wall planks
  • 3 min supported bridge (supported w/ bench)
  • 2 min iso hip extension (with stability ball)
  • 2 min side planks (each side, modified)
  • 40 good mornings (no resistance)
  • 30 wall squats (ugh!)

Everything was unbroken except the side planks and wall squats.

My heart rate really went up with the rope undulations, but I had a minute of rest between each round and that helped. I was concerned about doing planks, but Coach Iz had me to wall planks and they were totally possible! I was also concerned about doing planks; but Coach Iz had me do supported planks. This actually was possible too!

  • 8 min AMRAP of: 12 thrusters / 9 ring rows / 3 hip thrusts (each leg) / 3 lunges (each leg)

=> 3 rounds + 1 thruster (12 kg / 26 lb)

I found the thrusters rather hard. The rest of the class did turkish get ups instead of the thrusts and lunges that Coach Iz gave me to do.

  • 7 min AMRAP of: 10 goblet sq / 10 plank 1-arm rows (each arm, mod) / 10 KB swings

=> 3 rounds (12 kg / 26 lb)

12 kg was a little heavy for the 1-arm rows but a little light for the swings; but I liked using just the one kettle bell.

Within a few minutes after the workout, my heart rate was down to 90. I’m feelin’ good!

Thanks to Coach Iz for all the help, encouragement and creativity!

This was an amazing class for a preggie! I wish I’d recorded it to share!

January 13, 2012

Here’s the WOD:

  • 2 Rounds of: 500M Row; 3 min rest between efforts
  • Box Squat: 3@70% / 3@80% / 3@90% 1RM
  • For Time: 100 Double Unders / 100 Air Squats / 50 Power Cleans @ (65/95lbs)

Here’s what I did…

  • 2 rnds 500m row => 2:09 (PR!) / 2:16
I was so excited to get a PR! It’s only by 4 seconds, but hey! I’m preggie! I’ll take it!
  • Box Squats: (WU 3×45) 3×85, 3×95, 3×105
Coach Iz told me to keep these at 60%, 70%, and 80% instead of the Rx. These numbers are actually more like 65%, 75%, and 85%. Felt good anyway. Here’s a pic that Coach Tambot took…

Gillie doing Box Squats at 27 Weeks Preggie! 105 lbs!

  • For time: 6 min Versa Climber / 100 air squats / 50 power cleans => 14:12

I had the bar on the power cleans at 45#. I did the versa climber instead of double-unders for the obvious reason. I dare anyone to do 6 min on a versa climber and then attempt 100 air squats. It burns!

I loved this WOD. I bet my rear is gonna hurt tomorrow.😉

January 14th, 2011

Walked 3.5 miles, slowly. The first 2.5 miles felt awesome. Then I started having practice contractions during the last mile. But still, it was cool to go for such a long walk.🙂

January 16th, 2011

I stayed home and did a KB workout of my own design.

  • 21-15-9 of: Air Squats / One-arm KB High Pull (10#), each arm / KB Swings (25#)

This got my heart rate up and felt good.

  • 3×15 Good Mornings w/ 10#

I tried using the 25# but because it’s a small hand weight, it’s awkward to use for GMs.

This was a good little workout that took me approximately 10 minutes.

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a photo!

Gilliebean, 27 Weeks Preggie!

Leave a Reply

