5 WEEKS PP

My first babe is 5 weeks old. So far, I think my postpartum experience has been typical.

ME

I did have baby blues (I’m over them now). The jury is still out on whether that was hormone related or sleep-deprivation-related or a combination. My vote is on combination. But I did experience blues. I mourned the end of my pregnancy. I mourned the “disconnection” of my baby from my body (even though we were breast-feeding!). As I said, I’ve come through it, but there were a few dark days and lots of tears. Thankfully, my husband took time off and my mother spent several weeks with us. Both were extremely helpful.

Other notes:

  • I bled for two weeks and had normal lochia for the three weeks after that.
  • My uterus took about two weeks to “disappear”.
  • I lost most of my baby weight in the first three weeks PP. But I still have “extra” weight that I put on “unnecessarily” to lose. But I’m EBF, so I’m not worrying about that right now.

I have been eating organ meats and have been mostly paleo postpartum; but I’m not “strict” paleo. I’m still eating “safe starches.”

My placenta is still in my freezer. I’m still considering having it made into pills.

THE BABE

She had her one month doctor’s appointment this week and is in great health! She’s in the 75th percentile for weight and is “off the curve” at greater than the 97th percentile for height! She’s already wearing 3 month-old sizes! She’s got some baby acne (due to Mommy’s estrogen) but the doc says that will go away soon (update: It’s already better).

She’s also started to sleep at night. Yay! She wakes up a couple times to nurse but she goes right back to sleep. ON. HER. OWN! She doesn’t sleep much during the day, and is still on a 2-hour nursing schedule, but I don’t have to go back to work (Ah! The joys of a freelancer!) so I’m not nervous about pumping or anything.

She is a prolific pooper.😉

WORKOUTS?

Wednesday, May 16
3×250″ sprints
80 kb swings 15#

Monday, May 21
100 kb swings 15#

Somewhere in there I went for a few walks too.

Next week, I’m looking forward to starting back at the CrossFit gym too. We’ll see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

