26 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 26 weeks, I’m having some round ligament issues again. Running over Christmas was relatively painless, but after my workout on Friday, I found that running probably wasn’t the best idea. Right down where my round ligaments attach (the part where the baby comes out) was *really* sore for a day or so. And yesterday I ran for the bus and the ligaments, which had gotten better by that point, stretched again and got painful again for a few hours. And when they’re painful, walking is awkward. They recover quickly (for me, at least); so that’s good. But I have to be careful with running now; which is really annoying, because short one-mile jogs have been *the* thing that seems to keep me from packing on the pounds!

Other pregnancy symptoms that are typical for women nearing the end of their second trimester are also common for me. My feet have swollen a few times (usually when I sit for too long in a hard chair). I get short of breath. I have to eat smaller meals (because my stomach is squished). My ribs are aching. I get headaches sometimes. I have days of increased energy and then days of fatigue. Thanks to the enzymes I’ve been taking, constipation is history. And, joy of joys, the baby’s movement is starting to keep me awake at night!!

I’ve been starting to wonder if there are two (2!) babies in there (we haven’t had an ultrasound); and so I’ve been reading up on the internets about how to “palpate” for two babies – meaning how to poke around and see if there’s two. They say to look for “more than two fetal poles.” A fetal pole is a bum or a head. If you find a bum and a head and then another bum or head, then you’ve likely got twins! Also, if you hear two different heartbeats with two different rhythms (and neither are the momma’s) then you likely have two babes!

So far I haven’t been confident in my palpating.

FOOD

At 26 weeks, I’m back from Christmas and trying to be “good” again. Our CrossFit gym is doing a Paleo Challenge and I’m participating, of course! I’m glad to be home again and consuming the braunschweiger, liverwurst and sauerkraut that I had in my fridge. I’ve got another order on it’s way!

According to Nina Planck’s book “Real Food for Mother And Baby” the third trimester is the one in which you want to eat lots of fish because the baby’s brain is undergoing lots of development in this trimester. I’m about to head into my 27th week, which is the end of my second trimester, so I’m psyching myself up to eat less red meat and more fish – the good, low-mercury and sustainable kind.

Since it’s winter, I’ve increased my Vitamin D dose and I’m still taking Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

January 6, 2011

Here’s the WOD:

  • For Time: 800/400/200m run
  • Box Squat: 5@60%/75%/85% 1RM
  • 3 RNFT of: 5 Clean/4 Thruster/3 Good Morning/2 Snatch Balance/1 Over Head Squat- HBD (heavy but doable)
Here’s what I did…
  • 800m run => 5:00
  • 400m run => 2:13
  • 200m run => 0:58

These are about :20 off my average. Preggie’s slowing down! My round ligaments were complaining while I did these runs, but they didn’t hurt enough to stop me. I assumed that they’d be fine once I stopped running. I was wrong (see below).

  • I❤ Box Squats: (WU 5×45#), 5×75, 5×95, 4×110

I failed on the last rep of the last set. Oh well!

  • 3 RNFT: 5 clean, 4 thrusters, 3 g.m., 2 snatch balance, 1 OHS

I did one warm up round with the 15# training bar (the padded one). Then:

  • 1st round @ 35#
  • 2nd round @ 45#
  • 3rd round @ 50#

I failed on my first attempt at the snatch balance during the last round; but I picked up the bar and did actually finished the set. It was more mental than strength on those snatch balances.

In the hours after this class, I noticed that my round ligaments were still complaining. After looking online, I realized that I had very likely stretched them during the runs. I couldn’t find anywhere online that predicted a recovery time, so I put a hot pad on my crotch for a few minutes, and then went to sleep, hoping that they’d be better in the morning. Tossing and turning, while trying to fall asleep on Friday night, was the most painful preggie-tries-to-sleep session yet.

But thankfully, on Saturday morning, I awoke to relief! I was *much* better and walking wasn’t painful anymore. Then on Sunday, we had to sprint for a bus and I experienced a mild relapse. But as this run was shorter in both distance and time than the Friday runs; consequently, the recovery was faster.

Preggie, take note! I’ll be running more carefully and slowly from now on… If I run at all.

January 8, 2011

A nice slow 1.5 mile walk.

January 9, 2011

Today’s WOD at my local CrossFit was a running/lunging WOD. Lunges are likely fine, but I wanted to avoid the running. So I did a mild kettle bell workout at home.

Here it is:

21-15-9 RNFT of: KB swings (25#) / each hand KB High Pull (10#)

I did these with the hand weights we have; not with kettle bells. It worked out fine. Felt good!

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a photo from Saturday… You can see that I’m a little poofy in my face from the Holidays. I’m working on being less poofy.😉

Gillie, 26 Weeks Preggie!

Leave a Reply

