30 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 30 weeks, back aches in my lower back are getting common now. Especially in the morning. My boobies are getting tender again (to be expected?). I’m feeling hungrier these days and more fatigued. BabyCenter tells me that my babe is about 16″ and 3.3 lbs. That’s pretty long and skinny! I guess s/he is about to put on a bunch of cute and squishy baby fat! Consequently, I feel less like I can easily carry this uterus/baby and more like it’s a weight upon my bladder. FWIW, vaginal discharge is pretty much the same.

I keep getting woken up in the middle of the night by the tiny human that lives inside me. Party for one at 3 am!

FOOD

At 30 weeks, I’m starting to wonder if the antigens / antibodies that my body creates in response to my food allergies are going to passed along to my babe in the breast milk. I asked my ND in California what he thought and he said that it’s unlikely. The babe is more likely to develop food allergies genetically (so there’s nothing I can do now!). However, I’m still skeptical. Consequently, I’ve been thinking that I need to be *really* strict in these last few weeks with avoidance of my food allergy triggers so I can phase out my antigens/antibodies so they don’t show up in my breast milk – at least until my babe’s gut lining has closed (around the 6 month mark). This would include all gluten grains, eggs, all milk and a few spices and veggies.

Do any of my readers have any thoughts on this?

I’m still taking my Vitamin D, Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

February 2, 2011

Today I stayed home and did a kettle bell workout.

21 / 15 / 9 NFT of: American KB Swings (15#) / One-arm High Pull (15#) / Goblet Squats (25#)

Then I did 5 x 15-second hold pelvic tilts (aka angry cats aka cat-cows).

Hopefully I’ll get to CF tomorrow. 🙂

February 3, 2012

Today I went into CF, but I didn’t do the WOD. I joined the KB Technique class with Coach Dan. I love KB Technique class. 🙂

Here’s what we did…

  • WU: 2 min easy row => 413m
  • Tabata: Fwd / Back Traveling KB Swings

Used 25#. These are fun. Do you know what they are? I didn’t. Basically you take a step forward, alternating legs, with each up swing on the odd rounds. And then you take a step back on the even rounds.

F12 / B12 / F9 / B13 / F11 / B12 / F14 / B12

  • Tabata: Lateral Rope Undulation

Basically, for this you do crab walks left and right while undulating the rope. It reminded me of high school basketball practice. My heart rate went up to 150-160 or so. But it’s only four minutes; so it’s okay. 😉

  • 10 each leg x 5 rounds: Backwards Tactical Lunge

Used 18#. This is a weird one. You do a back lunge with the right leg and pass the KB under your left leg to the left hand. And back. Then repeat with the opposite leg. I couldn’t get the pass-thru the legs thing because of my belly. So I stuck to doing lunges and alternating the KB in front of me.

  • 3 rnds of 1 min each: Figure 8 Hold / Alt Arm High Pull / R-arm snatch / L-arm snatch / Rest

Used 15#.

OTHER NOTES

No photo this week. I’m sorry! Next week I’ll be sure to have a photo. I promise!

Leave a Reply

