37 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 37 weeks, hiccups seem to be increasing in strength. They still happen daily. The kid is still moving after meals and late at night as well as early in the AM. Braxton Hicks contractions are coming more frequently. Often, I can tell that they’re gonna happen before they actually happen! I feel a strange drug-like feeling in my chest or my head akin to lightheadedness (but I’m not dizzy). Then my uterus contracts. It’s weird to be able to know when they’re about to happen. Although, when my midwife was here this week, she tried to palpate to see how the baby was positioned and said, “Oops! You’re having a Braxton Hicks!” And I had no idea!

Other notes from my midwife’s visit: my BP at 124/68; the babe’s HR in the 140s, the babe is still head down, facing right; and fundal height was 37 cm (right on target!).

Thankfully, this week, I’ve had no swelling in my feet or ankles. I attribute this to activity, rest, and Vitamin D / Cod Liver Oil. And seriously, BOTH activity and rest (laying on my side for an hour) helped! Not just hanging out on the sofa or in a chair. Specifically, being active (i.e. going for a walk) and laying on my side has been what’s helped.

I think my vaginal fluid has increased slightly; but that’s normal, I’ve read. Rolling over in bed is quite the challenge! I like to joke that Nighttime Sleep is my hardest workout of the day!

 

FOOD

At 37 weeks, I feel like my plan to have low-carb days and mod-card days (essentially carb-cycling and kinda calorie-cycling) has helped me to decrease swelling and feel less puffy! My bump has totally gotten bigger while I feel like my legs have and calves are feeling less squishy. I’m still “aiming” for a babe that’s between 8 and 8.5 lbs and about 21 inches long.

The clementines that arrived with this week’s grocery order taste “off” so I’ve been avoiding them. That said, I think I’m still craving Vitamin C because yesterday I passed a Jamba Juice and couldn’t help myself. I ordered a “orange-raspberry-banana” smoothie. It was perfect.

Here’s some photos of my meals…

Ground beef, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, feta plus asparagus.

Broiled flounder plus sweet potato fries cooked in lard.

Supplements I’m still taking: Vitamin C, enzymes, probiotics, vitamin D, Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, magnesium.

 

ACTIVITY

After last week, I’m amazed at how much I did NOT do activity-wise this week. All I did was walk.

March 20, 2012

One (1) mile walk.

March 21, 2012

Half (1/2) mile walk.

March 22, 2012

Half (1/2) mile walk.

March 26, 2012

One (1) mile walk.

Other Activity Notes

I wonder if this was a week where my body just felt like it needed some recovery? I don’t know. I just know that walking was what felt right this week. I do think I’ll get to the CrossFit box at some point in Week 38, but I don’t know how much I’ll do.

Maybe I am getting “close” and my body is “tapering?”

 

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a picture from 37 weeks!

Gilliebean at 37 Weeks Preggie!

Sorry about the lighting. Hubby and I kept forgetting to take the picture so we took this one this morning before he left for work.😉

Another thing to mention this week: I attended the home birth of a friend up in Upper Manhattan. The whole thing took about 12 hours. It was her second baby. She texted me around noon saying that her contractions had been about 7 to 10 minutes apart since 9 am and were lasting about a minute and that she thought “today might be the day!” So I took my time getting there, arriving about 5 pm (I’d hoped to arrive by 4 pm). By the time I arrived, her contractions were about 3 minutes apart, lasting 1 minute and her midwife said she was about 5 cm dilated!  I supported the birthing mother, midwives and other support persons as best I could while also learning as much as I could (since I’d never before witnessed a birth in person!). She progressed rather rapidly. Around 6:30 pm, she announced that she’d be pushing by 8 pm. We all kind of rolled our eyes… But she was pushing by 8:30 pm and her little girl was born at 9:13 pm! The healthy little 8-pounder came out pink and screaming!

I was so honoured to have been invited to this birth and I was so inspired by this mother’s strength and determination. It was truly beautiful and amazing.

2 Responses to 37 WEEKS PREGGIE

  1. OneFitMom says:

    Towards the end of the pregnancy, all I did was walk. I felt really strong and didn’t have any pain or much discomfort, but I just couldn’t get excited about any activity more strenuous than walking. Apparently it’s the best “exercise” for preparing the body for labour. And quite frankly, even walking was tiring with all that extra weight and those loose ligaments!

    You made it to week 36 – don’t beat yourself up if your body decides that you’re done with the gym. But then again, I’ve heard stories of women whose water has broken at the CrossFit gym, so who knows – you could end up being one of those🙂

    • gilliebean says:

      Carli, that makes me feel a ton better, knowing that you only walked. I’m really starting to feel the ligaments get looser and looser! It’s exciting and strange all at the same time.😉

Leave a Reply

