24 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 24 weeks, I’m feeling pretty normal, except for the soccer-ball-sized uterus I’m carting around. I’m about to hit my third trimester (in a few weeks) and intermittent fatigue has started to get a little worse. But only a little.

FOOD

At 24 weeks, I’m still enjoying the liverwurst and braunschweiger, raw cheeses, sauerkraut, fresh veggies and other pastured meats. I’ve added eggnog because it’s christmas. I know there are concerns with raw egg yolk but I trust the source and am willing to take my chances. Also, I’m dealing with food allergies from the eggnog; but that’s how much I love it.

I’m gearing up for my 28-week blood sugar test. I’ve been testing it all along, every so often. My post-prandial blood sugars have been solid, as well as my fasting numbers. But as a person who eats mostly low-carb, occasionally moderate-carb, I don’t deal well with with a large bolus of sugar! I tested it today, my fasting was great, my post-prandial was great, but my one-hour post sugar bolus was right on the border of ideal. We shall see. I highly doubt that I’m going to develop gestational diabetes, given my diet and exercise habits; but I want to pass the test!!

Also, I’ve got Christmas this week! It’ll be hard to avoid the dairy, sugar and gluten.😦

I’m still taking Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Vitamin D, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

No CrossFit this week. First, I ran out of classes for the month (I used them all up in the first 2.5 weeks!). Second, I was in a different state, vacationing with family and didn’t have the flexibility to find a local box to WOD in. So, light morning jogs it was…!

December 21, 2011

I went for a 1 mile jog this morning. Felt strong. Could have kept going, but didn’t.

December 24, 2011

My father joined me for a 3/4 mile jog-walk this morning. Felt great to “run” with him again.🙂

December 26th, 2011

My husband joined my father and I for a 1 1/4 mile jog-walk this morning. I was awesome to run with both of my favourite men!!

OTHER NOTES

No belly photos this week. I’ll post some next week from my Christmas Baby Shower!

Leave a Reply

