22 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 22 weeks, I’m so enjoying feeling the babe move around. It seems that on days that I’m more active, s/he is more active, and vice versa; but that may just be my imagination. Fatigue still makes the nightly appearance. Enzymes seem to really help the constipation. When I forget to take them, I know! Boobies still tender. Still having trouble with forgetfulness and distractedness. Dizziness hasn’t been bad this week (could it be because I’ve been eating fewer carbs?).

FOOD

So glad to have my fingers back. The allergic reactions were so annoying! Iodine tincture helped speed the healing. I’m getting back to my normal rhythm of sauerkraut, chicken sausage, eggs, bacon, raw cheese, salads, fish, pastured and grass-fed meats, and organic veggies. I did buy a gluten-free chocolate chip cookie mix and it was yummy but I could tell that my body was unhappy with me each time I ate a cookie. One square of dark chocolate is a better snack than rice-flour cookies (faileo!).

I’ve been unable to get the grass-fed beef liver down recently, so I made a purchase today from one of my favourite venders, U.S. Wellness Meats (I get nothing for saying I like them). I bought braunschweiger and liverwurst. I know that I like these and can eat them easily. It’ll be easier to make myself eat my organ meats with these than with the grass-fed liver I usually get from our local grocery delivery service. And I need to eat my organ meats!!

Also, my Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules arrived in the mail today, so I’ll start taking those again. I’m still taking Vitamin D, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

December 7, 2011

Here’s the WOD for today:

  • 5 min of PVC Shoulder Mobility
  • 6 min amrap of: 3 Wall Walk / 3 Inverted Burpees / 3 Rolling Pistols each leg
  • Press – 3/3/3 Max Effort
  • Push Press – 3/3/3 Max Effort
  • Skin The Cat – 5/5/5/5
  • Hip Extension – 15/15/15

I’m gonna let you take a moment and read over that again. Really, pregnant lady, really?! You think you can CrossFit?! You may be like me and have to be shown what those AMRAP movements are. I knew what the Rolling Pistol was, but the rest were new to me. And not going to be done by 22-week preggie me!! Also, once again, can you picture a preggie (even a very strong one!) trying to perform a Skin The Cat?! If I ever seen one do it, I’ll go rip her fake belly off (if it doesn’t fall off when she’s upside down!). And I can’t do anything on the GHDs until the babe is born!

So here’s what I did instead…

  • 6 min AMRAP: 10 scaled ring push-ups / 10 air squats => 4 rnds + 10
Not as interesting as the other movements, but I got my heart rate up sufficiently.😉
  • Press: (WU 3×15, 3×35) 3×45, 2×50, 3×50, 55F
  • Push Press: 3×55, 3×60, 3×65 (PR!), 1×70 (PR!)

My previous 1RM on the press was 55#. My previous 1RM on the push press was 60#. Yay for pregnant PRs!

Then I varied from the class again…

  • Good Mornings w/ 45# bar: 15 / 15 / 15
  • Pelvic Tilts w/ 5-second hold: 4 / 4 / 4

See? With a few modifications, you *can* keep CrossFitting!

Great class!!

December 8th, 2011

Carried eleven (11) crates of film gear up two flights of stars. (See my other blog!)

December 11th, 2011

Carried eleven (11) crates of film gear down two flights of stars.😉

December 12th, 2011

Here’s the WOD:

  • 3 Rounds of: Row 1 min Max Effort; 1 min rest between efforts
  • Burgener Warm UP/Skill Transfer Exercise
  • Snatch – 3@50% 1RM/3@60% 1RM/2@70% 1RM/1@80 %1RM/1@90% 1RM/2@80% 1RM
  • OHS – 3/3 @65% 1RM, 3 @75% 1RM, 2 @85% 1RM, 1 @95% 1RM
  • 7 min AMRAP of: 20 Double Unders/10 Ring Rows/5 HSPU
Here’s what I did…
  • Row, 3 rnds 1 min max effort: 241m / 243m / 251m
Thanks to Coach Dan for giving me some guidance in my form. Evidently I was hyperextending my ankles? So now I’m squishing myself up less and doing more strokes per minute. I wonder how this will play out in my PRs…
  • Snatch: (WU 3×15), 3×35, 3×45, 2×55, 1×65, 1×70 (muscled the last few inches), 2×65
I’m glad to see that I’m staying consistent with my 1RM. None of these were harder than I hoped. I suppose that I could have been fearful that my growing core would affect my stability. But it didn’t seem to affect the snatches.
  • OHS: 3×50, 3×50, 3×60, 2×70, 1×75

I didn’t go as deep on the last two sets because I was trying to keep my chest up and Dan said that was more important. Core stability is wonky when it keeps changing on you on a daily/weekly basis. And it affected my overhead squats.

  • 6 min AMRAP (not a typo): 2 rounds + 20 + 3

I had a toe cramp, so I jumped into the amrap after 1 min. Also, I did jumping jacks instead of double-unders, scaled ring rows and pike push ups (floor).

Felt good! I can’t believe I’m five months preggie and still doing CrossFit! YAY!

OTHER NOTES

I totally forgot to take a 22-week preggie photo!! So sorry! I’ll definitely have one next week!

Leave a Reply

