21 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 21 weeks, I’m starting to really feel pregnant – like there’s a baby in my belly and I’m really pregnant, pregnant. Whereas before (first trimester), it was just bloat and what felt like a gas bubble. My midwife was right, the gas-bubble feeling goes away…😉

I’m still fatigued at 9:00 or 9:30 pm. Constipation is lessening (could it be because of enzymes?). Boobies are still mildly tender. Still experiencing intermittent forgetfulness, dizziness, and distractedness that are all several pitches worse than non-preggie Gillie-style forgetfulness, dizziness, and distractedness.

The babe is doing roundhouse kicks and summersaults in my womb this week. I’m so proud of this child. My friend Joy has described how she and her husband play games with their 23-week-old-baby-still-in-the-womb on her blog: Down In My Heart. I love reading how others have connected with their babes!

FOOD

I’ve been getting back into my primal (occasionally paleo) low-carb food rhythm this week. And my allergic reactions are subsiding and I’m feeling better. I’m still finishing up the gluten-free bread I bought the week before Thanksgiving. It’s not primal or paleo but it sure goes well with some grass-fed butter and my homemade nutella!😉

We’re also eating up the pastured turkey broth I made from our Thanksgiving bird. This broth is amazing. I know that it’s awesome because it’s so gelatinous. And it’s tasty! All it needs is a dollop of sauerkraut and it’s one amazing soup; but I’ve also been adding leftover veggies from Thanksgiving dinner and it’s a great side dish for lunch or dinner.

I’m still taking Vitamin D, Enzymes and Probiotics as well as Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules (but I ran out of these, so I’m waiting for the order to arrive from Amazon.com – in the meantime I’m just taking Carlsons).

ACTIVITY

November 30, 2011

Today was our Olympic Lifting Total. We were supposed to have improved from the first time we did the total on November 1st. Here’s my results from November 1st:

  • Snatch: 70#
  • Clean + Jerk: 85# (PR!)
  • Clean: 110# (PR by 20#!)

TOTAL: 265

Here are my totals from 29 days later:

  • Snatch: 70#
  • Clean + Jerk: 85#
  • Clean: 100#
TOTAL => 255

My oly total from November 1 went down 10 lbs! I thought it was because I’m 21 weeks preggie, but Coach Dan said it was because I zipped through the lifts too fast and didn’t give myself enough recovery time.

My husband said I should be proud to have maintained my strength while building a baby. I’m gonna go with that perspective.

I also went for a 3/4 mile jog in the morning before going to this class at noon.

December 2, 2011

Here’s the WOD:

  • Warm Up – Coaches Choice
  • 5 RFT of: 20 2 Hand K.B. Swing / 10 each 1 Hand K.B. Swing / 20 2 Hand K.B. High Pull / 10 each 1 Hand K.B. High Pull / 10 each K.B. Snatch (24 / 16 kg)

(All 1 hand KB Swings should be Russian Swings. All 2 hand Swings should be American Swings.)

Here’s what I did!

  • Warm-up: 3:00 min row => 631 m
Everyone else did 3:00 min of Double-unders, but because I don’t feel comfortable doing that while pregnant (it’s just uncomfortable to me!), I hopped on the rower. No one was upset with that. I considered the Versa Climber, but I wanted to save my cardio for the Kettlebells.😉
  • Kettlebell Hell => 20:07

I used 12 kg (27 lbs) on the two-handers and 8 kg (18 lbs) on the one-handers. Way scaled down from Rx. But, I’m still really happy with my time. My heart rate was hitting 150 the whole time, so I probably did just what my body needed to do.

December 5, 2011

Here’s the WOD:

  • For Time: 100 Jumping Jacks / 100 Mountain Climbers
  • Clean & Jerk – 1/1/1 @ 50% 1RM, /1/1/1 @ 60% 1RM, 1/1 @ 70% 1 RM, 1 @ 80% 1RM, 1 @ 90% 1RM, 1/1 @ 80% 1RM
  • For Time: 25 Double Unders/25 Box Jumps (20″)/25 Push Ups/25 Sit Ups/25 Jumping Pull Ups/25 Back Extensions/25 Dips/12 Turkish Get Ups each side (12/20kg)/25 Calorie Row

Here’s what I did!

  • 100 Jumping Jacks / 100 Mountain Climbers => 3:00+

I totally forgot to write down my time for the jumping jacks and mountain climbers. It was about 15-20 seconds after my classmates Ruthie and Aaron finished. Oops!

  • Clean & Jerks => 1/1/1 @ 40#, 1/1/1 @ 50#, 1/1/1/1 @ 60#, 1 @ 70#, 1 @ 75#, 1/1 @ 70#

Yes, I did four sets of one rep with the 60# when I was only supposed to do two. Coach Dan corrected my form after the first two, so I did two more with proper form before moving on. Thanks Dan!

So I modified this Hopper Workout beyond recognition. Here’s what I did…

  • For Time: 25 jumping jacks / 25 box step-ups / 25 ring push ups (scaled) / 12 Abmat sit-ups + 13 cat-cows / 25 ring rows / 25 good mornings w/ 15# bar / 25 leg assistant ring dips / 12 lunges plus twist w/ 8kg KB each leg / 25 cal row

=> 20:32 minutes.

I don’t feel comfortable with more than a few DUs. Too much hip flexor actions. But I feel okay with jumping jacks. Same deal with box jumps. Obviously, my belly gets in the way of push ups (and it stressed out my abs in a bad way anyway) so I’ve switched to scaled ring push ups.

I started the Abmat sit-ups and realized that my window to be able to do those and not stress out my abs too much has passed, so I switched to cat-cows (aka pelvic tilts aka angry cats). I did good mornings instead of the back extensions because I can’t get on the GHD with a belly.

I tried the TGUs but I could feel my abs stressing; so in consult with Coach Dan I sub’d the mildly weighted lunges w/ twist. Here’s a photo:

Weighted Lunge w/ Twist (sub'd for Turkish Get-ups)

I can still row no problem.

Great class!!

OTHER NOTES

I totally forgot to take a 21-week preggie photo!! So sorry! But you can see how far along my belly has come from the lunge photo, right?😉

6 Responses to 21 WEEKS PREGGIE

  1. I was going to say I’d be really impressed if you were doing turkish get ups at that late in the pregancy. Lunge looks good. You can swim up till almost the end though. It helps when the baby gets heavier, according to my mom.

    Does hopping bother the baby?

    • gilliebean says:

      My midwife says that jumping jacks, jogging, jump robe and even double-unders (where the rope goes under twice per jump) are all fine, that the baby is well-protected and cushioned. I just feel uncomfortable physically doing the jump robe stuff.

  2. For now since you have quite a bit of cushioning since the skin isn’t super stretched yet. When you get further along the distance between the baby and the skin is less, and it might be less protected. Swimming at that point might be better since the motion is less severe and its similar movement to what the baby is used to in the womb. I could be wrong though. With paleo pregancies that I have read about it seems that you don’t gain as much weight and the recovery time is much faster. Also the kid ends up being really well behaved, probably due to prenatal nutrition.

    • gilliebean says:

      You seem to really love swimming! I gotta be honest. I hate it! Plus I don’t have access to a free pool. I’m told that there’s little evidence that babies require “less severe” movement from their mommies in utero. Sure, a fall is bad, but walking up stairs, running, jogging, coughing, sneezing, turning over in bed… these are all movements that the baby is adapted to endure.😉

    • gilliebean says:

      P.S. Regarding a “similar movement to what the baby is used to in the womb” we might also allow that the baby will be “used to” me walking, jogging, climbing stairs, hurrying for the subway or bus, rowing, doing power cleans, doing jumping jacks, doing lunges and doing good mornings (just to name a few), since these are all movements that I will be doing throughout my pregnancy.

    • gilliebean says:

      P.P.S. My simple understanding about why paleo babies are better behaved is this: they receive sufficient animal protein and fats either via breast milk or once they start eating actual food, whereas other babies may not.

Leave a Reply

