20 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 20 weeks, I haven’t noticed many Braxton Hicks contractions. Fatique still hits around 9:30 pm. I could tell you without looking at a clock when it’s 9:30 pm. It’s fascinating. I’ve never been like that. I’ve only experienced the heartburn-without-the-burn once or twice this week. Wee! Constipation has lessened a little. Boobies are mildly less tender this week.

Even with forgetfulness and distractedness, I successfully navigated Thanksgiving week with in-laws in town and cooking the Thanksgiving dinner with in-laws and extra friends at the dinner table! #winning

The baby is kicking consistently. Each time s/he begins a kicking session, there are dozens of kicks to count. I’m very proud.🙂

FOOD

Thanksgiving week. As I explained to a fellow Canadian at my CrossFit gym, the stress of trying to feed seven people a *tasty* gluten-free Thanksgiving outweighed the stress of having to deal with gluten exposure for myself. So I chose to prepare a traditional North-Eastern Thanksgiving dinner. My friend from Virginia brought corn pudding and orange jello dishes for which I have no reference (they seem like very strange additions to lil’ Canadian me). I had bought a pastured, humanely-raised heritage turkey from a farmer that I’ve met and farm-fresh veggies (potatoes, turnip, carrots, parsnips, and cabbage) and prepared those. Consequently, we had way too many veggies; but the turkey was perfect (and so was the lovely gelatinous broth we made from her!)! So too was both the butternut squash soup and the sweet potato casserole that I made from scratch!

Clockwise from Top Left: Corn Pudding, Sausage Stuffing, Sweet Potato Casserole, Orange Jello, Carrots & Parsnips, TURKEY!

Turnip, Cabbage, and Potatoes!

I did have some familiar food allergy reactions on my eyelids and fingers the next day but I know that they will subside with a week or two of clean eating. I also ate way too many carbs this week because it was Thanksgiving and because of having family in town. Now that we’re back to “normal” (as much as Christmas prep and short film prep can be normal) I’ll go back to a lower-carb diet (but one that gives our growing babe all the nutrients and vitamins and fats that it needs!).

I’m still taking Vitamin D, Enzymes and Probiotics as well as Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules.

ACTIVITY

I only got in two workouts this week as well. What are ya gonna do when family and friends are in town!?

November 21, 2011

Here’s the WOD:

  • 2 min max effort Double Unders; 2 min rest
  • 2 min max effort Row
  • 21/15/9 RFT of: K.B. High Pull (16/24kg) / Toes 2 Bar
  • Clean and Jerk – 1/1/1 @ 65% 1RM, 1/1/ @ 75% 1RM,  1/1 @ 85% 1RM, 1/1 @ 95% 1RM, 1/1/1 @ 85% 1RM
  • Hip Extension – 15/15/15 NFT
  • 1 min HandStand Hold / 1.5 min Ring Support Hold / 2 min DeadHang / 2.5 min Iso Air Squat / 3 min Plank (5 Plyo Push Up penalty for every break in posture 30 rep cap); 90 seconds rest between
And here’s what I did!
  • 2 min Versa Climber (max effort)

Sooo… Because I didn’t feel comfortable doing jump rope in general (bouncing my baby all around), Coach Iz suggested that I do the Versa Climber for 2 min instead. Ew. But it was a very reasonable swap in terms of heart rate and warm up. And even though my midwife says jump robe is okay, I just don’t feel physically comfortable when I did it. So I’ve stopped doing it.

  • 2 min row w/ Max Effort. => 459 meters
  • 21/15/9 KB / T2B => 3:44

I did the Rx weight on the KB and then did knee raises instead of T2B or K2E.

  • Clean & Jerks

65% was 1×55, 1×55, 1×55
75% was 1×65, 1×65
85% was 1×75, 1×75
95% was 1×80, 1×80
85% was 1×75, 1×75, 1×75

  • Instead of Hip Extensions => Good Mornings 15 / 15 / 15

My belly gets in the way on the GHDs (and when I move down enough to give my belly room, it HURTS my quads) so I did Good Mornings instead with the 45# bar.

  • Isometric Holds

All the ISO exercises were done with 90 secs instead of the increasing time. Coach Jess was patient and kind to my one other classmate and me. I did the pike hold no problem. The ring hold was with a blue band for stabilization and a small box for support. I did the plank on my elbows.

After all this I did 15 / 15 / 15 “cat-cows” (aka pelvic tilts) and 25 scaled ring push ups (for my penalty).

This was the first time I’d been in a class with Coach Jess, ever. I think she was more nervous about coaching a preggie than I was about her coaching a preggie. But she did fine.😉

November 28, 2011

Here’s the WOD:

  • 500M Row; 3 minute rest
  • 400M Run; 3 minute rest
  • 5 min Hip/Shoulder Mobility
  • Hang Power Clean & Jerk – 5@ 60% 1RM, 3@ 70% 1RM, 2@ 80%1RM
  • Hang Power Snatch – 3@ 50%1RM, 2@ 70%1RM, 1@ 80%1RM
  • L-Sit- 3 rounds of 30 seconds (5 burpee penalty for every break in posture) 1 minute rest every time 30 seconds are accumulated
  • Skin the Cat- 5/5/5/5
Here’s what I did!
  • 400 m run NFT.

I did a nice light jog. I’d gone for a run earlier in the morning; just 3/4 of a mile. Jogging isn’t difficult, unless you have to poop.

  • 500 m row => 2:15

This was a PR! I guess this is the first time in a long time that I’ve done 500 m specifically. The last PR was 2:33 back in March.

  • Hang Power Clean & Jerk

WU 5 @ 35#
5 @ 60% 1RM => 50#
3 @ 70% 1RM => 60#
2 @ 80% 1RM => 70#

These felt good and mostly easy.

  • Hang Power Snatch

WU 3 @ 15#
3 @ 50% 1RM => 40#
2 @ 70% 1RM => 55#
1 @ 80% 1RM => 65# F!
1 @ 75% 1RM => 60#

I failed on the 80%. After completing the lift at 75%, I felt like maybe I should attempt 80% again, but I didn’t… I seriously think this was probably my first time doing Power Snatches (on purpose).

  • Pelvic Tilts: 3 x 30 sec holds

Instead of L-sits, I did Pelvic Tilts (aka Cat-Cows aka Angry Cats).

Then I did 5 burpees for solidarity with my class.

Then I laughed at the idea of a pregnant woman trying to do Skin The Cats.

Think about it…

P.S. Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos from my workouts this week.

OTHER NOTES

Here’s a 20-week preggie photo!!

20 Weeks Preggie!

 

Leave a Reply

