17 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 17 weeks, I’m feeling mostly normal again. Fatigue still hits about 9 pm each evening or mid-afternoon if I got up early. But I’m continuing to sleep at least eight hours a night. Still getting the occasional random headache, heartburn (without the burn) and very mild nausea. My frequently of urination has increased this week yet again. I’m still kinda constipated. Boobies are still tender. I still get the odd ’round ligament pain’ and twinge from the uterus growing. I’m still spacey and forgetful. Focus requires concentration. Also, clumsiness has made a sudden arrival – my kitchen floor has never seen so much action!

FOOD

I’ve decreased my carbs a bit and I haven’t noticed too much nausea from that; so I feel comfortable with that choice. I haven’t noticed any lack in energy but I have noticed that my baby bump is getting bigger!

I ate grass-fed beef liver this week and have increased my egg consumption. Yay! I’ve only noticed very very mild reactions to the eggs so I’m going to keep eating them but only at about half the rate as before the allergy showed up (like, only 4-5 per week instead of 8-10). The fish eggs are way too salty, so I’m taking two fermented cod liver oil capsules per day and calling it done. No fish eggs for me. I ate a few portions before I got pregnant, so I’ve already got some of that goodness into me.

I’m still taking Vitamin D, Enzymes, and Probiotics. My CrossFit coach noticed an article about the validity of taking up to 6000 IUs of Vitamin D daily while pregnant. I take 2000 IUs daily, plus the cod liver oil, plus I get regular sun exposure.

ACTIVITY

November 1, 2011

Today was our gym’s Olympic Lifting Total. I warmed up with an easy 500m row. Here are my totals:

  • Snatch: 70#
  • Clean + Jerk: 85# (PR!)
  • Clean: 110# (PR by 20#!)

TOTAL: 265

Feels good to be strong!🙂

In other news, I hit myself in the nose with the bar while I was warming up my C+Js. Ouch! It was still sore days later.

Finally… So because in November, we’ll be focusing on our Olympic Lifting Total, this video from One Fit Mom will be my motivator…

November 2, 2011

Here is the WOD:

  • For Time: 800M Run
  • SDHP- 5/5/5/5/5/5/5 (55/75);60 seconds rest after each round
  • 1 HSPU every thirty seconds for 10 minutes
  • For Time: 100 Squat Jumps
  • 100 RNFT: Hollow Rock/SuperMan’s
Here’s what I did…
  • Warm-up: 800m run => 4:23

That’s only 11 seconds off my PR.

  • SDHP: (5×15, 5×35, 5×45) 5×50, 5×55, 5×50, 5×50, 5×50, 5×50, 5×50

I wanted to work on delaying my pull, like Kurt and Dan keep hammering into my head. Using the 50#, I was better able to control that form issue.

Also, I was dealing with my thumbs which kept hitting my boobs on the way down. OUCH!

  • 1 HSPU every 30 seconds for 10 minutes

I did floor-pike push-ups with a folded yoga mat.

  • 100 jumping air squats FT = 5:52

My target was the second lowest bar on the cage. The one that sticks out. My heart rate hit 170 for a few seconds towards the end of this one.

  • (Modified) Hollow Rocks => 55 in 5 minutes.

Due to growing baby, I couldn’t do these with my feet fully stretched out. My knees were bent and my arms were stretched forward instead of above my head. I still felt it in my *not hollow* abs. Also due to growing baby, I couldn’t do SuperMans. I tried balancing on two wall-balls (one under hips, the other under chest) but because of the leverage, that mod doesn’t actually work the muscles that SuperMans are supposed to work. So I just did Hollow Rocks.

At the time, I didn’t know what I could do as a substitution for SuperMans but someone at my gym suggested “Good Mornings” which I think is a good suggestion. I might try that next time.

In the video I’ve linked to, she said Good Morning is more advanced than SuperMan. So perhaps it’s the right sub?

November 3, 2011

I walked a little over two miles.

November 4, 2011

Today, I jogged one mile.

November 7, 2011

Today I walked one mile.

OTHER NOTES

On Thursday morning, I checked my resting heart rate. It was 55. I think that’s good, right?’

Also, I had my second meeting with my midwife. Among other things, she checked my blood pressure. It was 112/68! Yay!🙂

I asked her about the tightness that I’ve been feeling in my uterus after walking a mile or two and after some CrossFit WODS. She said, “Congratulations! You’re feeling Braxton Hicks Contractions! That’s normal and that’s good that you’re noticing them!” Yay!

Another really cool thing about my meeting with my midwife was all the helpful info I got from her about scaling some portions of my workouts!!

  1. Squats: Sometimes, when I squat deep I get a mild pain on one side of my crotch. My midwife said that that pain is just where the round ligament attaches. She said to not push the weight too high when I squat, but not to worry about that pain if it’s minimal and goes away quickly. Also, I don’t need to worry about squat depth. Good!
  2. Abdominals: I demonstrated the Hollow Rocks for my midwife. My midwife said that anything that pushes the belly out is dangerous (like Hollow Rocks; even the modification I did), because now that my uterus is pushing my abs outward, they aren’t being held inward. So any abdominal movement that pushes the belly IN is good; because we’re trying to keep the abdominals from separating. She suggested Angry Cats.
  3. Jump Robe/Pike Push-ups: I’ve been wondering if doing double-unders or pike push-ups is harmful to my baby. My midwife says no. The baby is well cushioned and protected inside my and doing a few double-unders is not going to harm him or her.

Finally, tonight after my midwife appointment, I was sitting eating my dinner with my hubby when I yelped! I had just felt a distinct little thumb on the inside of my uterus! My babe had kicked me! I put my hand down and felt a little movement, but then it stopped. I’ve since felt the little thing move several times since then! YAY!!

Also, here’s a photo!!

17 Weeks Preggie!


Leave a Reply

