16 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 16 weeks, I’m feeling much stronger. Fatigue is kind of consistent at about 9 pm each evening. But I’ve discovered that if I get up too early (and lose sleep) then I will be exhausted by mid-afternoon. That said, if I get enough sleep (8.5 hours at least), then I’m fine for a whole day with a Crossfit workout and a shopping trip and laundry and dinner, etc.

I’m still getting random headaches. My boobs are still sore (try doing push-ups with preggie-boobies! Ouch!). Constipation is still occurring. I’m peeing more and more often. Forgetfulness continues.

Food

So a few weeks ago I noticed that I was plumping up a bit. It seemed kind of sudden and it was definitely more than I wanted to plump up. This seemed to coincide with my nausea fading; but I didn’t change the amount of carbs (specifically rice products) I was eating. I’d up’d my carb intake during the first trimester because carbs helped keep my nausea at bay. But now that my nausea was easing up, I found I didn’t “need” as many carbs to stay sane. So I’ve pulled back on the carbs a bit (but not the calories), and I’ve noticed my arms and legs feeling less plump while my belly continues to grow. Yay!

I’ve only been able to get two servings of grass-fed beef liver down since my second trimester began. I’ve got some liver in the fridge and I’m going to cook it up soon and have it in a salad (my favourite way to have it). But the other thing is, I’m able to eat eggs again without an allergic reaction! Before I got pregnant, if I ate eggs, my eyelids will swell and get itchy. But In the last week, I’ve eaten about five eggs and I’ve had NO reactions! YAY! So if I’m not getting liver, at least I’m getting eggs. Remember my list?

I’m still noticing issues with milk and ice cream; but cheese and butter is fine. I don’t have easy access to raw dairy but I suspect that I could consume raw dairy with no issues. I will make an order this week and see if that theory holds out.

I’m still taking Vitamin D, Fermented Cod Liver Oil / Butter Oil, Enzymes, and Probiotics.

Activity

October 25, 2011 – 16 Weeks 

Today I walked a mile in the morning and then I walked a mile in the evening. Felt good.

October 26, 2011

Today I had work on a TV set so I was on my feet for most of the morning!

October 28, 2011

Here’s the WOD from today:

  • Warm-up: 400M Run @ 85% Intensity
  • PVC- Dislocate/Shoulder Mobility- 5 minutes
  • Tabata- Wall Ball
  • Press – 3/3/3/3/3 @ 70% 1RM
  • Push Press – 3/3/3 @ 80% 1RM
  • Thruster – 1/1/1 @ 90% 1RM
  • HandStand Hold- 3 rounds 1 minute each
Here’s what I did:
  • Warm-up: Row 500m => 2:28
It was super-cold outside! I didn’t want to go out! The coaches asked if I was up for running. i think they meant “because I’m pregnant” and on a warm day, I’d say, “of course!” but because it was so cold, I shook my head no. So I got to row instead. And got a proper warm-up.
  • Tabata Wall Ball => 55
This was more difficult than when I did Karen. My squats are falling to pieces. 12# wall ball felt heavier than 12#. Ew.
  • Press: 3×20, 3×30, 3×40, 3×40, 3×40
  • Push Press: 3×40, 3×45, 3×50, 2×55

I attempted 3 at 55, but Tammy said my last rep was more like a Push Jerk. Oops! Some I’m only claiming two.

  • Thruster: 1×55, 1×55, 1×55
  • 2 planks + 2 pike push-up holds

I did the 2 planks and 2 pike push-up holds instead of the handstand push-up holds.

Oct 31, 2011

Today we did a CrossFit Total (CFT). That’s a Back Squat, Strict Press, and Dead-lift – in that order.

I warmed up with an easy 400m row. Then…

  • Back Squat: 135# (PR by 10#)
  • Press: 50#
  • Deadlift: 185# (PR by 20#)

TOTAL: 370 (previous total 345, from September 30, 2011)

I don’t know why my press went down. I’d been feeling like it’d be going up. I also expected my squat to change; but I thought it’d go lower. Oh well. Still happy with my numbers!

Other Notes

Here’s a photo!!

16 Weeks Preggie!

Leave a Reply

