14 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 14 weeks, nausea is still in the evenings (although not every evening). Fatigue still occurs occasionally. Mild headaches still occur occasionally. Boobies are still sore and vivid dreams continue. Constipation is still occurring. Nose stuffiness is a little better this week. I’m feeling my uterus more and more and frequency of urination has increased.

Food

I’m kinda stuck in the rut of my first trimester food needs. I think I’m over it (the nausea-related carb needs) and I can clean up my diet a bit, but I’m so comfortable with all the juice and fruit and rice pasta. It’s hard to give it up. Also, part of me is scared that if I stop eating all the rice products that I’ll go back to being nauseous (rationally, I know that’s silly; but hey, I’m pregnant!).

Activity

So my plan is to start doing three Crossfit workouts a week and two one-mile jogs. I really want to stay fit and not become a preggie-blimp! Also, I’ve read enough about how much stronger baby’s hearts are in mothers who exercise, so I want my baby to have the best heart I can give him or her! So here we go!

October 12, 2011 – 14.1 Weeks

This was the WOD:

  • 400M Run @ 75% intensity
  • DeadLift- 5/5/5/5/5/5/5 (build to 85% 1RM)
  • Power Clean- 3/3/3 (max effort)
  • 12 AMRAP of: Run 200M/3Power Clean (BW/75%BW)/20Ball Slam (15/20)

Sooo… I have no idea if I could have worked harder or if I worked too hard. ;)

Here’s what I did:

  • 400 m run @ 75% => 1:58
  • Dead Lifts @ 85% of 1RM: (WU 45×5, 65×5) 5×85, 5×115, 5×140, 4×140, 5×140, 5×140, 1×140
  • Power Cleans: (WU 3×15) 3×65, 3×75, 3×85
  • 12 min AMRAP: run 200m / 3 power cleans @ 70# / 20 ball slam @ 10#

=> 4 rounds

Heart rate was even around 150. My midwife says this is fine for a short workout like a 12 minute amrap.

I was concerned about my form on the dead-lifts and power-cleans. Is my uterus okay? Didn’t feel any pain or strain, so I guess so…?

October 14, 2011 – 14.5 Weeks

Today was a day of PRs. It’s so exciting to PR when you’re preggie. Makes you feel awesome!
Here is the WOD:
  • For Time- 100 Air Squats
  • Press- 5/5/5 (build to 85% 1RM)
  • Push Press- 3/3/3 (Max Effort)
  • Jerk- 1/1/1 (Max Effort)
And a MetCon:
  • 5 RFT of: 50′ Bear Crawl/20 Toes To Bar
So, here’s what I did:
  • Warm-up: 3:00 min row => 557 m
  • 100 Air Squats FT => 3:15
  • Strict Press => 3×25, 3×35, 3×45
  • Push Press => 3×45, 3×50, 3×55, 3×60 (PR)
  • Push Jerk => 1×60 (PR), 1×65 (PR), 1×70 (PR)
  • Split Jerk => 1×75 (PR)

I’ve got Push Jerks and Split Jerks listed seperately in my PR list. When I got the 70# PR with just a Push Jerk, I knew I could get a 75# Split Jerk and I knew it would be a PR. So I threw two 2.5# plates on the bar and knocked out another PR. Just because it’d make me feel good. Ha!

  • MetCon:

50 Mtn Climbers / 20 K2E
50 Mtn Climbers / 20 Abmat Sit-ups
50 Mtn Climbers / 1 minute plank
50 Mtn Climbers / 20 Abmat Sit-ups
50 Mtn Climbers / 20 Abmat Sit-ups

=> 9:35

Coach Iz gave me an out from doing the T2B or K2E because of ’round ligament pain’ so I took it (thanks Coach!). The funny thing is, once my belly gets too big to do sit-ups, I might have to switch back to K2E…? Anyway, I was glad that my hands and forearms were not getting ripped up from this MetCon. Others’ hands and arms were spazzing out and they were falling off the bar!

My heart rate felt good the whole time.

October 15, 2011 – 14.6 Weeks

I went for a one mile jog.

Other Notes

I’m starting to really notice my belly and my uterus as I move around, workout and squat…!

Also, on Sunday morning, I checked my resting heart-rate. It was 55. That’s good for my first trimester, right?

Leave a Reply

