13 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 13 weeks, nausea is still in the evenings. Fatigue is easing up slightly. Mild headaches still occur occasionally. Boobies are still sore and vivid dreams continue. Constipation has eased up this week a little. Nose stuffiness holds steady from last week.

Food

Any aversions I had have kind of subsided; but I’m still craving sour foods. Vinegar and dill are two of my favourites. Haven’t yet tried “pickles and ice-cream” although my husband says that he expects me to rave about it any day now.

Activity

This week I did three workouts instead of two! And I went for a one mile run as well on one of my “off” days. Fatigue is subsiding! I’m gonna kick it up a notch! HA!

October 3, 2011 – 13 Weeks

This was the WOD:

  • Warm Up – 5 min of Hip Mobility
  • 400M Run
  • Squat-  5/5/5/5/5 @ 65%1RM
  • For Time: Descending ladder (6 to 1) of  Squat @ (Body Weight/75%BW) and HSPU
Here’s what I did:
  • 400m run = 2:01

I intentionally took it easy. Sprinted a little at the end.

  • Back Squats: 5×5 => 80#

I am still dealing with not getting deep enough on my back squats and leaning forward too much. With coaching from Dan I was able to get better on my first three of each set, but tired on the last two each time and my form suffered. Widening my stance and lowering the bar position helped.

  • Descending Ladder of Back Squats / HSPU For time => 4:36

I sub’ed regular push-ups for Hand Stand Push Ups (HSPU) or their typical alternative, pike push-ups, because I didn’t want to fall on my belly. That gave me a serious time advantage.

Also, 75% of my body weight is only 10# less than my 1RM. So I definitely didn’t to the Met Con Rx. I up’d my bar weight from 80# to 85# for the Met Con and after the 3rd round (4 reps) Coach Dan said my form was going to sh!t and that he was going to drop my weight. I told him, “No! I’ll get it!” So he gave me the 4th round (3 reps) to get my form right, and I didn’t; so while I did my 3 push-ups he dropped my weight to 75# and I did the last two rounds at that weight.

I was angry. Angry that I hadn’t listened to him in the first place (and dropped my weight before starting) and angry that I couldn’t get my form right. Sigh.

Thanks Coach Dan for keeping such a close eye on me.

October 5, 2011 – 13.1 Weeks

Here is the WOD:
  • Run 800M @ 80% Intensity
  • DeadLift- 3/3/3/3/3 Max Effort
  • 9 min AMRAP of : 5 DeadLift(225/135)/10 Toes To Bar
Here’s what I did:
  • Warm-up: 800m => 4:29

Not bad for 80% effort and 100% preggie! ;)

  • Deadlifts: (WU 45×6, 65×6) 85×3, 105×3, 125×3, 145×3, 165×1, 155×3

Thanks to Coach Tammy, for pushing me within reasonable confines.

  • MetCon => 85#, 5 rounds + 5 DL

Of course, I subbed knee raises for T2B. The MetCon felt good, except for my burning palms.

Heart rate and core strength felt good and stable.

October 8, 2011 – 13.5 Weeks

This WOD I did with Crossfit London, in Ontario, Canada because I was at my parents’ home for Canadian Thanksgiving! Thanks to Coach Dave for being so welcoming and accommodating!

At Crossfit London, they have everybody warm up on their own with things like: sit-ups, hip extensions, pull-ups, press, and OHS. And then after a while, everybody does the WOD together.

Here’s the WOD…

For time:

  • 400m run
  • 21 box jumps (28/24)
  • 12 dead lifts (80kg/60kg)
  • 400m run
  • 21 tuck jumps
  • 12 kettle bell swings (1.5 pood / 1 pood)
  • 400 m run
  • 21 double unders
  • 12 SDHP (2 pood / 1.25 pood)

Here’s what I did:

  • 400m run
  • 21 box jumps (step up, step down)
  • 21 dead lifts (88#)
  • 400m run
  • 21 air squats
  • 21 kettle bell swings (16kg)
  • 400m run (walked with my father)
  • 21 double unders
  • 12 SDHP (16kg)

=> 16:30

No, that’s not a typo in my workout. I accidentally thought that all the reps were supposed to be 21, not 12 (until the SDHP!); so I accidentally did more than I was supposed to! ACK! Ah well…

Good workout!

Other Notes

Here’s some photos of me doing the dead lift from October 5th! Thanks to Tammy for the nerdy photos!

Here’s my attempt at 165# – I only did one rep.

Dead-lift: 165#; only got one, but good set-up, eh?

And here’s the successful attempt at 3 reps of 155#!

Dead-lift: 155#; yeah!

So now you know, I’m just an average girl-nerd in funny pants doing Crossfit. I’m definitely not elite. But I want you to know, it’s possible to maintain strength and fitness while preggie for the average girl-nerd!

Leave a Reply

