12 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 12 weeks, nausea is switching to consistently in the evening. Fatigue, headaches, sore boobies, and vivid dreams continue. Constipation is still my constant friend. Nose stuffiness has improved a bit.

Food

So my midwife says my iron levels are good (on the low end of good; but good). So instead of taking iron supplements, I’m going to continue ensuring that I get foods rich in iron. Foods like: liver, red meat, cod liver oil, spinach, leafy green veggies. Also, I’m trying to ensure that I drink a citrus drink with my red meat to help increase the iron absorption. Somewhere, on the internets, I read that it helps. However, I’ve not had much liver since I got pregnant because, as others predicted, I was NOT able to stomach it during my first trimester. So I just bought some this week. I think I will be able to get it down again. And if you’re concerned about my Vitamin A levels, please read this before commenting.

Activity

September 27, 2011 – 12 Weeks

This was the WOD:

  • Warm Up: 6 rounds of Row30Sec @ 90%; 60 Sec Rest
  • For Time: 21/18/15/12/9/6/3 of Squat (95/65)/ Push Press(95/65)/ Sit Ups

Today’s WOD was fun… I did:

  • WU: 6 rnds 30 sec 90% row w/ 60 sec rest

=> Total 867 m (avg 144 m / set)

Because of the rest periods, I was able to really push myself during the work periods. Kept my 500m pace at around 1:52 during the last four sets. First two sets were like the warm-ups for the last four. Ha!

  • Descending Rounds FT: 18 / 15 / 12 / 9 / 6 / 3 of Squat (40#) / Push Press (40#) / Sit ups

=> 14:03

Tammy suggested that I scrap the first round (21) in order to not overheat (being preggie and all). I wish I knew what time I could have gotten had I done all the rounds and done them Rx. But I’ll have to wait until next year to try Rx again. Patience!!!

Heart rate was steady throughout the WOD at about 145-150. I felt strong and felt like I kept a good pace.

But then I bailed on the cash-out.

September 30, 2011 – 12.5 Weeks

Here’s the WOD:

  • Crossfit Total: 1RM Deadlift, 1RM Squat, 1RM Strict Press

We also had a warm up.

In a little over 6 minutes, I did 2 rounds of 25 DU + 200 m run. Still having trouble with DUs. I blame preggie-coordination. Or is that preggie-lack-of-coordination…?

  • Back Squats: 125# (PR by 20#)
  • Push Press: 55# (same as old PR)
  • Dead Lift: 165# (PR by 10#)

TOTAL: 345 (at 12.5 weeks preggie!)

I think I could’ve gone heavier on the back squats and dead lifts. On the push press, I failed at 60#, so I feel comfortable with that number. I think perhaps I could have tried for heavier weight on the DL. I’ll try to improve my form before trying for heavier weight on the back squats.

Or maybe I’ll just wait until after April of next year… ;)

Thanks for letting me lift heavy today Coach Iz!

Other Notes

This week, I also had my first hormone-related ugly cry. It was over two family pets who both left us looong ago (one in 1992!). Ryan (hubby) was helpful in talking sense into me. I hope this doesn’t happen often; my nose can’t take the abuse!!

Leave a Reply

