10 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 10 weeks, nausea is decreasing slightly though still occurring when hungry and in the evenings. Fatigue occurs for a few hours each day. Constipation, sore breasts and vivid dreams continue. A few skin blemishes have popped up.

Food

I am craving sour things (vinegar, sauerkraut, pickles) and juice. And, as I’ve mentioned before, I have a thirst that cannot be quenched with water; so I bought juice. And now juice has become paramount. Mango, cran-apple, orange. Give me juice!!!

Activity

September 14, 2011 – 10 Weeks

This was the WOD:

  • 1k Row (for men every second over 3:30 perform 2 Burpees for women 1 Burpee penalty/ 50 Burpee cap)
  • Squat- 1 rep @ 90%1RM every minute on the minute for 10 minutes
  • Pistol- 1ea. every 30 seconds for 10 minutes
Here’s what I did:
  • 1K Row = 4:15 (PR by 39 seconds!)

Even though I’m supposed to go easy, I wanted to do my best on the row so I blasted through the first 400 m keeping my pace at 1:55, then I failed, crashed and fell to a 2:15 pace. Ugh.

I only did 15 of my 45 burpees.

  • Squats = 1 rep every min, for 10 min (total 11) @ 95#

I warmed up with 45×3, 65×1, 85×1, and 95×1. My current 1RM is 105# so I felt okay with 95#. Heart rate stayed about 140.

  • Pistols.

I did one each every 30 seconds for the first 3 minutes, assisted with the pole and on a 12″ box. But my heart rate climbed up to 160 so for the last 7 minutes I did just one each every minute on the minute.

Thanks Coach Dan for keeping an eye on me!

September 16, 2011 – 10.5 Weeks

Here’s the WOD:

  • Weighted Pull Up- 1/1/1/1/1/1/1; 60 Seconds rest between efforts
  • 30/20/10 RFT of: Pull Ups/Push Ups/Over Head Lunge (45/25) {60 reps per leg}
So today I worked on finding how light I could go on the band-assisted pull-ups before I couldn’t do one. Turns out, I can go lighter than I thought! Yay!

I warmed up on the pull-ups with:

Black Medium x3
Green Band x3
Black Medium Band x3

These bands are the same “weight” but because the black bands are older, they are slightly “harder”.

  • I did the 1/1/1/1/1/1/1 workout with the blue band.

I was very happy with that. I had tried it with the tiny pink band but I couldn’t do it.

Then:

  • 30/20/10 RFT of: Pull-ups, Push-ups, OH Lunges w/ 25#

I did the first 10 pull-ups with the Medium Black band (older, stretchier); then switched to the stronger Green band for the duration. I did the first 10 (each leg) lunges with the 25# plate, then switched to the 15# plate for the duration.

= 23:36

I had to stop a few times to let my heart rate come back to a normal rate.

Other Notes

Must have juice!!

Leave a Reply

