8 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 8 weeks, my nausea has increased more. I’m still not throwing up; but it is ever more unbearable. Fatigue has increased too. Constipation, sore breasts and vivid dreams are continuing. Boo.

Food

So I’ve noticed that I feel worse when I keep my carbs in the low range. So I’ve upped my carbs to moderate and that has helped my nausea. I’m eating more potatoes but I think I’m going to start getting sick of potatoes. So I’ve added corn and rice products. Don’t hate.

Activity

August 30, 2011 – 8 Weeks

This was the WOD:

  • For Time: 100 Double Unders
  • 12/9/6 RFT of: Clean(155/105)/Muscle Ups
  • 10 Rounds of Sprint- 40 Yards; 30 seconds rest

Here’s what I did:

  • Warm-up: 5 rounds 5 each leg Weighted Bulgarian Lunges / 10 Slow Abmat Sit-ups
  • Warm-up 2: 100 DU = 6:36 (I blame pregnancy!)
  • 12/9/6 Cleans & Muscle-ups (Modified) @ 55# = 15:20
  • one (1) 40 yard sprint: 6.49 seconds

Seriously, my Double Unders have totally gone the way of the buffalo! Before I was preggie, I could do 15-20 unbroken. Now, I’m lucky if I get 5 or 6!!  Have other preggie-crossfitters noticed this?

I only did one sprint. I was proud of my time.

September 1, 2011 – 8.5 Weeks

I woke up not feeling any nausea so I knew I had to take advantage of that, even though I didn’t want to do a running workout.

Here’s the WOD:
  • 5 min Run Technique/Hip Mobility
  • Run 800M; 5 minutes rest
  • Run 400M; 3 min rest
  • Run 200M; 90 seconds rest
  • 21/15/9 RFT of: OHS(95/65)/ Box Jump(24/18″)/ T2B (toes to bar)
Here’s what I did:

Runs:

800m = 5:23
400m = 1:59
200m = 0:40

I pushed a little harder on each of the runs. They felt good actually.

MetCon:

21-15-9, OHS @ 35#, box jumps @ 12″, knees 2 elbows-ish…

=> 10:37

After pushing hard on the runs, I wanted to keep my heart rate reasonable for the rest, so I kept my weight light and my box low. Still got a good workout in.

Feeling mild ’round ligament pain’ on the knees 2 elbows. Nothing concerning yet.

Other Notes

Nada.

Leave a Reply

