7 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 7 weeks, my nausea increased. I’m still not throwing up; but it is more unbearable. Fatigue has increased. Constipation, sore breasts and vivid dreams are continuing.

Food

I’m reading “Real Food for Mother and Baby” by Nina Planck. It’s amazing!! Here’s a favourite quote:

“You have about forty weeks to build a baby. Since we’re all steeped in the language of trimesters, let’s assume it happens in three acts. Your baby’s parts – her tiny liver, lungs, toes – are made of micronutrients called vitamins, so you hardly need to eat anything extra in the first trimester. Just eat well. If that’s difficult, take well-chosen supplements. Your baby’s structure – bone and muscle – are made of calcium and protein, so have plenty of both in the second trimester. Your baby’s brain is made of fish, so it’s important to eat plenty of seafood at the end.”

She seems to have a real handle on the research of birth nutrition and of the hormones of pregnancy. Mostly, she subscribes to a Weston A Price version of “just eat real food” (#JERF) and #realfood, but just omit the breads and dairy and her suggestions can totally be modified for paleo mommas.

But as you know from Week 6, I’m totally eating dairy. I’m eating butter and raw cheeses along with sour cream, creme fraiche, and the occasional cappuccino (like, once a month, occasional). Always full fat! Never low-fat or non-fat (which is crap and not food).

Activity

August 23, 2011 – 7 Weeks

This was the MetCon:

  • 5 min row: 35 cals
  • 4 min situps: 105
  • 3 min KBS (#8): 75
  • 2 min squat (#60): 33
  • 1 min push press (#30): 23

Then we did:

  • 20/15/10/5/10/15/20 Double Unders Unbroken (1 Burpee Penalty for each fault)

=> 6:21

But, I did tuck jumps instead of DUs, because I showed up without the proper shoes (so I was barefoot). Won’t do that again. I did five burpees after for the few DUs I tried where I slapped my toes with the rope and it HURT!!

My coaches were very patient with me today.

August 16, 2011 – 7.5 Weeks

Here’s the WOD:

  • 3 Rounds of: 1 Power Clean/ 3 Split Jerk@ 80% 1RM; 2 min rest
  • 5 Rounds of: 7 HPC (unbroken/light & fast)/30 seconds Versa Climber; 90 sec rest

Here’s what I did…

  • Warmup: 10 min AMRAP 20 DU / 15 burpees / 10 wall ball (#12)

I did 2 rounds + 1 DU

  • 3 x (1 Power Clean + 3 Push Jerks) @ 55#
  • 5 rounds of 7 Hang Power Clean @ 40# + 30 sec sprint row + 90 second rest

Heart rate felt good. It feels good to be able to continue working out!

Other Notes

Nothing extra to report this week.

Leave a Reply

