6 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit MomJoyful Abode, andFitness Editor Blog.

Pregnancy Symptoms

At 6 weeks, the nausea has increased to be unbearable without rest and it lasts All. Day. Long! Fatigue has increased. Constipation has continued. Dreams are beginning to be more vivid. Boobies are still sore.

Food

I’ve started having a few aversions. Mostly, I don’t want to eat things that are too sweet. And while I usually eat dairy as a part of my diet (call me lacto-paleo?), I’m not interested in dairy right now (mostly milk and ice cream). I am feeling more thirsty than normal. I’m still taking Vitamin D, Now Foods Super Enzymes, cod liver oil and a prenatal supplement every other day.

Activity

August 12, 2011 – 5.5 Weeks

Row 1 K @ 24 spm = 5:10

Front Squat = (WU 3×45, 3×55) 3×65, 3×65, 3×65

Hang Squat Clean = (WU 3×45, 3X55) 3×65, 3×60, 3×60

Chest to Bar (w/ heavy band) = 20 in 45s, 20 in 50s, 20 in 55s

Pike Pushups (w/ two abmats) Max Effort = 3, 3, 4

August 16, 2011 – 6 Weeks

I just did the Crossfit Mom workout which was basically a 1 mile run.

Other Notes

I can tell that my blood volume has already started to increase. I can feel it in my work outs. So I’m basically trying to keep my heart rate around 150 bpm or lower. If I’m in the middle of a workout and I notice that I heart rate is creeping up past 150, I will stop and breath for a second until it’s down to 140. So far, this seems to be working.

Leave a Reply

