Paleo/Primal Food Pyramid

April 20, 2011 – UPDATE: Do you want your own poster, mug, or t-shirt with this design on it?  Get one here at my CafePress store! Or at Paleo Skin!

January 11, 2011 – UPDATE: I’m delighted if you’d like to use this pyramid in your blog, but please credit me appropriately.  Thank you!

I’ve been frequenting the PaleoHacks website in order to stay motivated and fine tune my paleo/primal diet, even while I’m in the midst of my food allergy jazziness.  A few months ago, someone asked what a paleo food pyramid would look like.  Here was my attempt!

In case you’re wondering, this would indeed be my personal recommendation for optimal health based upon my experience and research.  It also, strangely, sends us toward a more kind diet for the environment.  But more on that later…

12 Responses to Paleo/Primal Food Pyramid

  1. Darren says:

    This kind of ‘paleo’ rule applies to many aspects of our life, not just food. I often ask myself, “have we been doing this for 50,000 years?” to think about predictable human behaviour.

  2. Love the graphic … and happy to give you (rather than the person who had posted it without attribution) credit!

  3. Scotlyn says:

    Hello,
    I don’t see a way to contact you directly, but I would like to use this excellent graphic (with appropriate attribution) in a patient advice leaflet for handing out at my acupuncture clinic. These will be printed, but not sold, and will be for patient education purposes only. If you agree to give me such a permission, please feel free to contact me via the email address provided with my comment. Thanks.

    PS – you should consider having this made into a poster.

  4. Nahuas Pinon says:

    And the most essential product for the government recommended guidelines the grains do not even make the cut. What a shame.

  5. This graphic is AMAZING! I am currently working on a blog post: Paleo Zone for Dummies and this, in my opinion is the best paleo pyramid II have come across. May I use it? I will give full credit and a link to your site!

    Thank you!

  6. Amin says:

    Where does raw honey fit in?

    • gilliebean says:

      That’s a great question. I missed that! I’d put it right at the tip between optional dairy and sugars to avoid. Honey is great in small amounts but for people who are metabolically deranged, it could affect BG levels in an adverse way. So, if I were to revise the chart, I’d put honey at the very end of optional.

Leave a Reply

