Gluten-Free Timbits!

Timbits!!  What’s a timbit?  You must be American.  *sweet smile at you*

Timbit (proper noun): a bite-sized doughnut hole sold at Tim Hortons in Canada. Introduced in April 1976 these treats are now available in various flavours that differ from store to store. Flavours include chocolate, jelly-filled, “dutchie”, honey dip, sour cream glazed, and apple fritter.

Sour cream glazed is my favourite.  But now that we’re going more gluten-free/paleo/primal/vlc, we’re trying to limit the amount of (wheat) grain products we have in our diet!

So a while back I had this brilliant idea to try frying my coconut flour muffin batter in coconut oil.  “Would that make a timbit?” I wondered.  So today I tried it.  Yummy awesomeness!!

Recipe is after the jump!🙂

Gluten-Free Timbits!

  • 1 1/3 cups coconut flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • stevia to taste (or your preferred sweetener)
  • tbsp butter
  • lots of coconut oil

Throw the coconut flour, eggs, vanilla, stevia and butter together in a bowl. Mix well with hand-held mixer.

Heat coconut oil (one (1) inch in the bottom of a stainless steel pot) on low to medium heat.

Roll dough into one (1) inch balls.  Drop one at a time into hot oil.  Fry until dark brown but not burnt.  Cool on paper-towel-covered plate.

After my timbits were cool, I dipped them in melted chocolate (Ghirardelli) and while they were cooling, I sprinkled cinnamon over them.  Heavenly!

If you try this recipe, please let me know how it goes!!

14 Responses to Gluten-Free Timbits!

  1. Julie Petro says:

    I am so happy I now know what a timbit is! Thanks – I’ll have to try these. Cheers, Julie

  2. Sharan says:

    THANKS!!!

  3. […] loves dessert. Have you ever tried Gluten-Free Timbits? But, before you chow down on any dessert, be sure to enjoy a Colorful Crunchy Salad with Smoky […]

  4. Gisela says:

    What units are in “1 1/3 coconut flour”?

    Is that cups, ounces, pounds, kilos, ????

    This recipe looks delish!

  5. sherpamelissa says:

    Hi! I don’t have stevia and usually use raw honey as my sweetner. Do you have a suggestion as to how much to use? I was going to make these in the morning! Thanks!

  6. R says:

    That brand of chocolate isn’t gluten free.

    • gilliebean says:

      Oh silly me! Well, I’m sure if gluten is a serious issue for you, you can find a brand that is to use for the dipping if you choose to do that.🙂

  7. Robert says:

    Eggs, butter and milk chocolate are neither paleo nor primal🙂

    • gilliebean says:

      I would argue that eggs are both paleo and primal. Butter and milk chocolate are definitely “allowed” within a primal food-plan. And if we’re talking paleo, they are both acceptable “cheat” foods.

Leave a Reply

