Why You Should Avoid KFC

I hadn’t eaten at KFC in about a decade.  Several weeks ago, I went there with my eyes open and had a Grilled Double Down. I asked for it with no sauce (have you read what’s in that sauce?!); but they unfortunately didn’t honor my request.  I didn’t discover this until after I’d left.

It was really yummy; but I’m sad about what I put in my body.  As I said, eyes open!

  • Grilled Chicken (CAFO), marinated in chemicals (including soybean oil and MSG!)
  • Bacon (CAFO)
  • Monterey Jack and Pepper Jack Cheese (or something else; depends on their budget)
  • Colonel’s Sauce (Soybean Oil, Water, Distilled Vinegar, Egg Yolk, Sugar, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Paprika, Xanthan Gum, Monosodium Glutamate, Spice, Chicken Broth, Garlic Powder, Propylene Glycol Alginate, Potassium Sorbate, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Soy Sauce (Soybean, Wheat, Salt), Natural Flavor, Chicken Fat, Dehydrated Chicken and Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten.)

Check out the Ingredients List!  Kudos to them for posting it, at least.

If you’re in the mood for KFC, maybe stick to salads.  And don’t ever get anything boneless from there!

If you are in the mood to try a Double Down, just go ahead and make your own!

This post is categorized in food; but i’m not quite sure that it’s accurately labeled.

4 Responses to Why You Should Avoid KFC

  1. Livinginboxes says:

    I took a look at the list of ingredients out of curiosity and was astounded to find that with the grilled double down you could potentially end up with over 200 ingredients, in what should essentially be chicken, bacon, cheese, sauce and spices. MSG in it’s myriad of forms showed up at least a few dozen times.

  2. he looks like a snob. great information though.

  3. fyi — link to the kfc.com ingredient list no longer works.

Leave a Reply

