MINT EXTRACTION SUCCESSFUL!

My friend Brian and I share a plot at a local urban garden. We’ve planted carrots and broccoli and cabbage among a few other things. Brian’s been growing herbs over at his apartment but I was too scared to try herbs. Until recently!

I saw that there was wild mint growing near the water hoses at the garden – many different varieties of mint! So I asked the garden manager if I could dig some up and take it home to grow on my balcony. He said yes!

Last weekend, I pulled up some regular mint and some chocolate mint and using the leftover dirt from Brian’s herbs, I transplanted the regular mint into an old coconut oil bucket and the chocolate mint into a plastic bag-lined paper bag on a tin pie plate. Then I watered them both well.

Over the last few days I’ve been checking the dirt and pulling off dead leaves so the plant can give energy to the live leaves. And today! Today I noticed that the live leaves no longer feel wilted! They’ve livened up! The roots have started to grow! The transplant was successful!! I know it’s only mint and mint is hardy and it was likely to succeed. But I’m still excited.

Homemade Ginger-Mint Looseleaf Tisane for me!!

One Response to MINT EXTRACTION SUCCESSFUL!

  1. Amy says:

    Yay! It seems very fitting to me that you are moving into gardening. I look forward to trying the fruits of your labor!

Leave a Reply

