Simple Meatballs

I tried something spontaneous tonight with my ground beef.  I looked in my Joy of Cooking book for some ideas and found recipes for German Meatballs, Italian Meatballs, and Swedish Meatballs.  I was on the phone with my mother and I asked her if only three countries ever made meatballs.  My mother is an awesome audience.  I’m always hilarious when she’s my audience.  Anyway!

I looked at all three recipes and looked at my cupboards and based on what I had, I came up with the recipe below!  They’re classified as primal because I’m not using tomato products or bread or wheat flour.  I was super delighted with how they turned out!

Simple Meatballs

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup almond flour (or coconut flour)
  • 3 cloves crushed garlic

And if you’re feeling spicy, add:

  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • dash pepper
  • dash salt

Whisk the egg in a small bowl. Dump it and everything else in a bowl and mash together with clean hands. Shape into 2″ balls. Pan fry for 15 minutes in coconut oil or butter on medium heat, until meatballs are cooked inside. Or try baking them for 20 minutes at 350’F just to see if that’s easier.

They stuck together really well and were very yummy.  Super easy and super quick!

Leave a Reply

