FOOD FACTORY

I’ve currently got five containers on my counters that are various food things in various stages of completion or fermentation.

(from right to left)

Sauerkraut – I just threw this one together a few minutes ago – cabbage, chiles, sea salt, and whey.  I mashed it all together and then smashed it all into a jar.  In a week or so, I’ll taste it.  Yum!  Last time was too salty.  I used less salt this time.  We’ll see how it turns out.

Yoghurt – I’ve got a jar of milk and greek yoghurt that’s culturing into a full jar of yoghurt.

Kishk – I’ve got a cracked wheat and rolled oat mixture fermenting with some homemade yoghurt in order to make a Middle Eastern food which will become kishk granola on Thursday when I add coconut and raisins.

Sourdough Sponge – my sourdough sponge is proofing.  Tomorrow I’ll add the rest of the whole wheat flour and water and let the dough rise its first rising.

Hazelnut-Cocoa Spread (aka Primal/Vegan Nutella) – I roasted my Hazelnuts today.  They’re cooling on the stove before I grind them into paste tomorrow!

Besides the large mound of rabbit-like dishes, that’s what’s happening in my kitchen!

This blog post is a part of GNOWFGLINS’ Tuesday Twister!

8 Responses to FOOD FACTORY

  1. Nutella??? Oh goodness. My kids beg me for nutella. Will you share your recipe?

  2. Wow, you’re growing alot! I’d love to hear more about the khisk – I think my family would really like that. What recipe are you following? I don’t recognize the name but I wonder if I know it by something else? Thanks for sharing your awesome week in the Twister!

    • gilliebean says:

      Hi Wardeh! My husband was really getting tired of eggs and sausage so he begged for a granola recipe. I went to my Nourishing Traditions cookbook and found the recipe for Kishk Granola in there. It’s made with bulger or cracked wheat. I had a container of multigrain hot cereal so I’m trying it with that. I’ll bake it today and make granola with it tomorrow. Although I think I should be able to add the granola fixin’s today before I bake it. Ah well… We shall see how it turns out!

  3. I’m dying to hear how your granola came out as well. I’m still not happy with the soaked version I made. I gave up last winter and just started making soaked breakfast “cookies” that were essentially soaked oats in buttermilk with maple syrup and raisins then dehydrated I added almond meal to boost the protein. My non-eater loves them though.

    • gilliebean says:

      I’m actually pretty happy with how the kishk granola came out! And my husband likes it too! I think I need to spread it thinner next time I bake it so it’s less thick and chunky; but we love the sour flavour. We added raisins and coconut and a little stevia (1 tsp for the whole batch?). We’ll definitely be making it again! Your breakfast cookies sound yummy too!

Leave a Reply

