Three Kinds of Popcorn

I don’t normally eat popcorn.  I like to avoid corn products usually.  But tonight we had an Open House here at Club Fritch and popcorn is a rather inexpensive and (other than not having a chip-like snack food at all) a relatively healthy alternative to other snack foods.  And we have an air-popper.

But I didn’t want to serve bland, plain popcorn, or even just buttered and salted popcorn.   So I got out the air-popper and the corn and opened my kitchen shelves to see what fancy things could season my popcorn.  A while back Amy Mac had given me a shaker of fine-ground salt.  So I started with that.  Butter and salt is a mainstay; so I made that and called it Movie Popcorn.

Then I remembered that I’d added parmesan to popcorn before and it’d been yummy; so I pulled out the parmesan.  But I didn’t want just the cheese flavour.  So I pulled from my favourite potato chip flavour and added black pepper.  I seasoned that one with a little salt and mixed in some melted butter.  It was cheesy and spicy and I called it Peppered Parmesan.

And I’ve recently fallen in love with a salty-sweet chocolate covered almond snack at Trader Joe’s, and people love kettle corn, so I wondered what I could make that was salty and sweet.  I knew that when we’ve made our own granola we’ve mixed molasses with maple syrup to get a lovely sweet drizzle that covers most everything.  So I mixed a little molasses (1/4 cup?) and a little Grade B maple syrup (1/4 cup?) in a saucepan and melted it together.  I drizzled that over the freshly popped popcorn and added the finely ground sea salt and ta da!  I had a salty and sweet snack that I called Salty Molasses.

Popcorn

Looks like the Salty Molasses was the favourite!

Recipes for Peppered Parmesan and Salty Molasses are after the jump.

Enjoy!

Peppered Parmesan Popcorn

  • 1/4 cup popping corn kernels
  • 4 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 tsp black pepper (or to taste)
  • 1 tbsp parmesan, grated (or to taste)
  • dash find-ground sea salt

Drizzle melted butter over fresh air-popped popcorn.  Immediately shake pepper and parmesan over popcorn.  Mix together.  Enjoy.

Salty Molasses Popcorn

  • 1/4 cup popping corn kernels
  • 2 tbsp molasses
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp fine-ground sea salt

Melt molasses and maple syrup together in small saucepan.  Stir together.  Drizzle syrup mixture over fresh air-popped popcorn.  Immediately shake sea salt over popcorn.  Mix together.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

