PRIMAL BLUEPRINT RECIPE: HOMEMADE NUTELLA

As you know, I’m participating in the Primal Health Challenge hosted by Mark Sisson and his Worker Bees over at Mark’s Daily Apple.  The challenge has daily contests from big prizes to little ones.  One of his contests is the Primal Blueprint Recipe Video contest.

So I made a recipe video for my homemade nutella.

The winner of the contest will receive:

1 Excalibur Food Dehydrator
1 pair of Vibram Fivefingers
12 canisters of Damage Control Master Formula
1 bottle of Vital Omegas
1 canister of Responsibly Slim
1 “Grok On!” T-Shirt (your choice of size and color)
1 copy of The Primal Blueprint (Mark’s book)

I don’t think I have a great chance of winning (there are already tons of great videos submitted), but I had fun making the video and it’s fun to share recipes with people in such a unique way! But I really want that food dehydrator. And a pair of VFFs for my husband.

9 Responses to PRIMAL BLUEPRINT RECIPE: HOMEMADE NUTELLA

  1. Darren says:

    Some years ago, it occurred to me that a good litmus test for the way we treat our bodies was ‘well, how has humanity done it for the rest of human history?’ This includes food, exercise and so forth. Is that what ‘primal health’ means?

    Speaking of primalness (not a word, but bear with me), I heard about a book on Jon Stewart recently that I thought might appeal to you, being an avid runner and all: http://bit.ly/123LGj

  2. gilliebean says:

    Mmm… I think you might be right about that book, Darren! I’ll add it to my wish list.

    And yes, the phrase ‘primal health’ does refer to an evolutionary metabolic milieu. It’s the paleo “diet”. You can learn more about what it is at the website I link to above – Mark’s Daily Apple.

  3. Maba says:

    I loved your entry Gillian. I need to buy me some hazelnuts. I’ve never used stevia before, does it taste like sugar? I hear it can have a funny after-taste. Is there a brand you recommend.

    BTW, I came here via MDA.

    • gilliebean says:

      Maba! Welcome to my blog!🙂

      Stevia tastes sweet like sugar but some kinds can have a black licorice aftertaste. I use a Trader Joe’s brand of stevia (the kind made with milk lactose). I think this kind has less of that aftertaste.

      Some of the more pure versions (like the liquid) will have more of the aftertaste. I’ve tried several kinds over the last 6 years and the kind using lactose from milk as a carrier is my favourite.

  4. Amy says:

    Gillian – you are so cool! I love your video! I miss you!

  5. Ben says:

    Was that a toaster? For bread?

    • gilliebean says:

      Ben, my husband is not yet fully paleo…😉 You may have noticed a round sourdough loaf sitting to the right of the shot in the beginning of the video!😉

      For what it’s worth, the toaster is also good for reheating almond flour and egg pancakes!😉

Leave a Reply

