Ginger Kombucha

I love gingerale.  I always have.  I grew up on gingerale and orange juice cocktails with my dinner.  It was my favourite drink!

Of course, these days I rarely drink soft drinks, soda pops, or colas.  It’s just water, coffee and wine for me!  I’m all natural, right?  Except, I also drink kombucha!  Hm…  I guess that’s natural too.

Thanks to Jack Roberts for introducing me to it while I was in Tulsa last fall.  He started me off with GT’s Synergy Guava Goddess.  Then I tried the Original.  Then the ginger.  I was hooked.  I bought two a week while I was there.

After I came home to LA, I continued buying the kombucha, but it added about $7 to $10 dollars to my weekly grocery budget!  Over 52 weeks, that could start to get unacceptable.  Especially since we were going to have to live on a tighter budget in 2009 because of the movie.  So…

I brew my own kombucha!  I grew my own SCOBY (the starter) from a bottle of GT’s Original and I make my own kombucha.  It’s much cheaper than buying two or three bottles every week at Whole Foods.

Sometimes I add some TJ’s Very Green Juice Blend or Odwalla Superfood for an extra special healthy drink, but I read something the other day that made me very excited.   I read that I can add a chunk of fresh ginger to my freshly strained kombucha and it will start to taste like a gingerale!

I’ve got some fresh ginger in my current batch (I bought some at the farmers’ market on Sunday)!  I’ll let you know how it goes!

I other news, I found a great little website that helps new kombucha brewers troubleshoot their problems!

3 Responses to Ginger Kombucha

  1. Luminosity1080 says:

    Just found your blog – We brew our own KT too! We’ve used a variety of things in our second ferments but adding ginger was delicious. Tons of fizz and oh so wonderfully yummy. Thanks for the link to that kombucha site. THere’s always more questions I have…

    I’ve got some neat pics of my new scoby that only a fellow KT drinker would appreciate… drop by and take a peek!

  2. Jason says:

    The new web site for the Kombucha Balancing Act:

    http://users.bestweb.net/~om/kombucha_balance/

Leave a Reply

