HOMEMADE NUTELLA

homemade-nutella-1

Homemade Nutella (aka Chocolate Hazelnut Spread)

3 cups raw hazelnuts
3 tbsp cocoa powder
3 tsp stevia (or to taste)
1 tbsp oil (maybe more)

Roast the hazelnuts for 10 minutes at 350’F on a clean cookie sheet.  Allow to cool.

Remove paper-thin shells (just whatever comes off easily).  If you leave them on, the spread is bitter.  But it’s not worth the stress of trying to get them all off.  Just remove what comes off easily.

Let the roasted hazelnuts sit overnight (I have found that I get a smoother spread if I let them sit.  You can still make them while they’re warm, though.

Place roasted hazelnuts in the bowl of a food processor.  I use a 12-cup Cuisinart.  Process at full speed for about 5 minutes or until the nuts begin to clump like a cookie dough.

Add the cocoa powder and stevia.  Process until the mixture is evenly dark.

Drizzle the oil into the mixture.  I have been using olive oil.  Start with the first tablespoon.  Mix well.  Does the mixture have a spreadable texture now?  If not, add another 1/2 tablespoon.  Now?  Keep adding a little oil until the mixture has your prefered spreadable consistency.  I’ve found that about 2 tbsp of oil does it for me.  But it depends on the nuts!

I use this spread on rice cakes, on toast, with pretzel sticks, mixed with yogurt, over raspberries and just on a spoon!  It’s so yummy!

WW Points = 1 point per tablespoon

P.S. I took this picture when I was still putting only 2 tbsp of cocoa in the mixture.  It should look a little darker.

4-24-2011 – UPDATE: I’ve been using coconut oil to make this. It adds a much better flavour than olive oil.

8 Responses to HOMEMADE NUTELLA

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Will try very soon. Very soon! (Just waiting on my stevia that I ordered.)

    Love, Wardeh

  2. Janette says:

    This recipe sounds fabulous! I love nutella but don’t like to eat the store brand. Yours is so healthy!

  3. Peggy says:

    Thank you so very much for this post! I love Nutella as it reminds me of my childhood in Germany (good ole’ Army brat days!!) but am trying to eliminate all processed foods. This is the one thing that my crew has balked against giving up so hopefully this will satisfy their Nutella cravings!

    • gilliebean says:

      Peggy, it won’t be as sweet or as chocolately, but it will be more hazelnut-y than nutella! I recommend a good dark cocoa to really get that chocolate flavour in there. And if you want it sweeter (and more like the real thing), and you don’t mind a little sugar, you might try using powdered sugar instead of stevia (to taste). Hope they like it!!

  4. Amy McPherson says:

    I am hooked on Gillian’s nutella! So good!

  5. Yum, I’m a huge nutella fan. I want to feature this in my next make&share!

Leave a Reply

