Book Store Flies

After the screening of The Garden on Saturday night, we stopped at a used bookstore around the corner and I bought a book about long-distance cycling for $4.  This was a traditional used book-store with the typical book-store-flies.  You know the ones.  They love books.  They love thinking and talking and sharing opinions.  They wear mostly black.

Well this group was no exception and when I rounded the corner to pay for my book, I asked, “Who wants my money?” and they immediately broke into a round of quips about who would like to take my money and why.  Witty folks.

Then, one girl standing beside me asked if I’d like to see a real “sea-bug” and as I pulled out my dollars I answered, “Well, I grew up on an island, so it may not gross me out.”  “Which island?” another book-store-fly asked.  “Newfoundland.”

A chorus of “ooohs” met my ears followed by a discussion about where it is and which time zone it uses.  Cute.

They proceeded to ask me questions about the province: how many people, how cold, etc.  They seemed genuinely interested.  One guy told me that I was the first Newfoundlander that he’d ever met.  So I curtsied.

After entertaining a few of their questions, I raised my hand, waved and said, “Good night, y’all!”

I bet that kept them quipping for a while.

2 Responses to Book Store Flies

  1. Fay says:

    Cute. And funny. I love the flow of this post.

Leave a Reply

