APPLE STORES FREAK ME OUT

I once went into an Apple store solely to look at their bags.  As I strode through the center aisle of birch tables, at least 5 employees said hello to me.  I responded to the first and was so startled by the rest I failed to respond.  It would have been like a bad Three Stooges episode.  “Hi. Hello. Hey! Wassah!”

After spending 15 minutes looking at bags (with 2 employees asking if we needed help finding anything), I again passed through the hall of birch.  The same girl that had first said hello saw me and said, “Thanks,” I expected for her to continue with, “for coming in.”  But instead she continued with, “for saying hi to me.”  Hm.  Thanks for saying hi to me.  Sad comment on her life or the state of her apple store?  or passive aggressive attack for my reaction to being bombarded by salutations?

4 Responses to APPLE STORES FREAK ME OUT

  1. Erin says:

    Actually, I know what she’s going through. As a greeter at Pottery Barn, customers don’t generally return the hello. They all look startled as if I just asked them to give me all of their money, take their clothes off and kiss me, or some such thing. I’ve actually had people jump at the sight of me. It’s a little disconcerting. So, in my opinion her saying thank you for saying hi was just a natural response. She’s trying to believe that there is still some gentility in humanity. Plus, obviously saying hello to every customer is part of everyones job at the Apple store. Corporations seem to think that people like it when they are greeted. It’s “Good customer service”.
    When I say hello to people and then later tell them to have a nice day, I mean it. I bet she does too. So when someone comes in and says hello back, it doesn’t feel like you’re not totally worthless. Mrs. Cellophane and all that.
    I hope that relieves your uneasiness, (and everyone elses,) about Apple stores and retail stores in general. They are simply doing their job. Tell Steve Jobs that they can lay off the five million hellos. He’ll listen to you before he listens to the people that work at the store. This issue is why I’ve drastically cut my hours back at Pottery Barn. I hate greeting.

  2. Priscilla says:

    I love the 5th avenue Mac store here… I never get bugged… then again it is 5th avenue and I before buying my Mac spent an inordinate amount of time there.. where there was a girl I think she lived there, but she would put on her headphones plug into a laptop pull up a britney spears video and start singing and dancing along.. up and down the aisles bumping into people and everything and they never said a word. When I went to buy my computer I had to really get someone’s attention. If you are ever in the city check our out.. it will be your new favorite place:)

  3. Ivy says:

    This is a really funny story. Hahaha.

  4. gilliebean says:

    Hm… perhaps 5th Avenue and I should get to be friends. 🙂 I’ve never been to NYC. I hope to get there sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

