WGA STRIKE: LATE SHOW IRONY

From their blog, a Late Show writer had this to say.

Why We Fight
By Steve Young

I was one of the last people in the United States not to own a cellphone. I’m just not that chatty, and ordinarily I’m at the office or at home or somewhere with my family. My wife and teenage daughter have cellphones I could borrow on the rare occasion I needed one.

The strike upended my predictable routine. Suddenly I was wandering around the city, marching on picket lines and attending meetings, feeding quarters into payphones to tell my wife where I was and what was going on. And she couldn’t reach me. So I decided to take the plunge.

This morning before the picketing started, I browsed at the Verizon Wireless store on 57th Street. I picked up a phone and saw it was displaying a menu that listed “David Letterman.” I pressed the button, and holy crap, literally a second later I was watching a comedy piece I’d written a couple months ago.

…Is CBS making money from this? I’m guessing they are. Are the Late Show writers? I’m certain we’re not. So we continue to fight for our piece of that pie. And now I’m the proud owner of a shiny new cellphone that plays “promotional” videos of television shows. I hope I can eventually make enough money to pay the phone bill.

Leave a Reply

