29 WEEKS PREGGIE

This is a series on being a pregnant paleo/primal Crossfitter. I found out that I was pregnant in August 2011. My due date is in April 2012. I post each week about my Crossfit workouts, what I’m eating and various pregnancy symptoms. Just because I can do it, doesn’t mean you should do it; but you can use my blog as research for your own prescription!

I recommend checking out a few other blogs of women who are paleo and pregnant, or crossfitting and pregnant or both! Here’s a few favs: One Fit Mom, Joyful Abode, and Fitness Editor Blog.

PREGNANCY SYMPTOMS

At 29 weeks, I’m starting to be able to distinguish feet and head and bum when I press my hand into my uterus. My midwife does it and says it’s okay for me to do to it too. I’m pretty sure the head is usually down and facing to the right with the babe’s back along the left side, his or her little bum is on the top left, and the little feet are on the top right! That’s where I keep getting kicked. I’m told this is an ideal position for birth and it’s a good sign that the babe already seems to prefer it! Also, I’ve been feeling LOTS of hiccups this week too!  I’m told this is a sign of proper neurological development and also promotes lung development. Cool!

I still get the food reflux thing occasionally (without the acid or burn). To help with that I just take more enzymes and add a pillow to the bed. Balance and clumsiness is a little off. I get shortness of breath occasionally, but my iron count is good so I know it’s not anemia. Because of a good diet and enzymes my BMs have been regular for months. Yay! But now that I’m in my third trimester, I am starting to get a little more fatigued. Otherwise, my pregnancy has been textbook easy so far. Wouldn’t you agree?

FOOD

At 29 weeks, I’m getting a little hungrier. So I’m eating more meat. We’ve been doing the “paleo challenge” at our CrossFit gym for the month of January, but I’ve just been following what I feel my body needs in terms of carbs like white potatoes, rice, and corn. I’ve limited them, but I haven’t avoided them. Same with dairy. A few homemade grass-fed whole milk cappuccinos and London Fogs (minus the vanilla) have found their way into my diet; as well as feta.

Then at my baby shower on Saturday, January 28, there were quite a few gluten treats. And I decided to let myself snack. I did get a mild allergic reaction on my skin, but the worse part was the sickness that I felt later that night (reminiscent of my high carb period from 2002 – 2006). It’s a horrid sickness where you don’t know what end it should come out but it’s not moving and you feel horrible. For me, it comes directly from high bolus of gluten intake and I should have known better. I took quite a few enzymes and a hot shower and Ryan rubbed my back (which always made me feel better during the first trimester nauseous days). That helped. I woke up the next morning later than normal, feeling tired, but with no more nausea. Whew!

I’m still taking my Vitamin D, Fermented Cod Liver Oil/Butter Oil capsules, Enzymes, Probiotics and an occasional dose of prenatal vitamins.

ACTIVITY

Early in the week I took my resting heart rate. It was 63. That’s not too low, is it?

When my midwife took my blood pressure on Wednesday, January 25, it was 124/68. Still good!

January 24, 2011

Here’s today’s WOD:

  • 400M M.B. Run (14/20)
  • Clean & Jerk- 5@60%/4@70%/3@80%/2@90% 1RM
  • (rest as needed between reps and rounds)
  • For Time: 100 Ball Slams/10 Rope Climbs/50 SuperMans (Partition as needed)

And here’s what I did!

  • WU: 400 m run with 6.5# “built-in” med ball (aka baby) => 2:50

My “mini” is currently measuring at about 6.5 lbs (2.5 for the babe, 2 for the uterus, 1 for the amniotic fluid, and 1 for the placenta). That should count as a weighted run, right? RIGHT?!

  • Clean + Jerks: 5@60% – 50#, 4@70% – 60#, 3@80% – 65#, 2@90% – 75#
Here’s a blurry photo of my split jerk…

Gilliebean, clean + split-jerk @ 65 lbs!

These felt easy. I really wanted to go for my 1RM of 85 and see if I could better it, but I knew I’d get yelled at. ;)
  • Met Con: 100 Ball Slams w/ 10# + 30 Ring Rows + 50 Good Mornings w/ 15#

=> 8:07

Heart rate was up to 150, but came down right quick. Workout felt good!

Interesting to note: I did not have round ligament pain in the evening following this 400 m run!

January 27, 2012

Today I stayed home and did a *very* brief KB workout with my *new* kettle bells! That’s right! I’ve graduated from using hand weights as kettle bells and now I have actual kettle bells! YAY!

My new kettlebells!

Here’s what I did:

21 / 15 / 9 of: KB Swings American-style 15# / KB High Pull 25#

It was quick and easy! Sure, it would have been just a warm-up for a regular CrossFit class, but it’s enough for a 29-week preggie to achieve maintenance, right? ;)

January 30, 2012

Here’s the WOD:

  • 1 Mile Run
  • Hang Clean: 2/2/2 @ 80% 1RM
  • Clean Pull: 3/3/3 @ 100% Clean 1RM
  • 9 min AMRAP of: 5 Front Squats(65/95) / 5 Strict Pull Up / 10Burpees

Here’s what I did!

  • 800m run => 5:45

Can I call it a med-ball run? I was carrying 8 lbs with my round ligaments and core muscles. ;)

  • Hang Clean: (wu 5×15, 4×35, 3×45) 2×50, 2×50, 2×55
  • Clean Pull: (wu 3×55) 3×75, 3×75, 3×75
  • 9 min AMRAP of: 5 Front Sq @ 55# / 5 pull-ups w/ 2 blue bands / 10 baby burpees

=> 4 rounds + 1 front sq

I used two blue bands so they could go around my baby belly. Aside from the extra time it takes to get in and out of them, they worked really well.

Baby Burpees are: 1 jumping air squat + 1 wall push up.

I felt strong. The kid seems to just hunker down and take a nap while I do my workouts. Hopefully s/he does that after s/he’s born too! ;)

I don’t anticipate round ligament pain from this little 800m jog.

OTHER NOTES

No belly photo this week! You just got a whole post of photos from my pregnancy photo shoot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

