Primal Nanaimo Bars

This is the cheesecake version!

I love Nanaimo Bars.  Aside from good ole chocolate chip cookies, Nanaimo Bars are my favourite!  But by the traditional recipe, they’re super high in cornstarch (ew!) and sugar (ahhh!).  So I brainstormed a gluten-free, low-carb, sugar-free version of my second favourite cookie recipe!  I call them: Primal Nanaimo Bars!  And they’re super easy to make!

Nutty Primal Nanaimo Bars  (Buttercream Version)

Crust

  • 1 cup brazil nuts
  • ½ cup coconut oil
  • dash salt
  • 1 tbsp stevia extract
  • ¼ tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder

Blitz brazil nuts until a course powder.  Add the rest of the ingredients and blend well.  Spoon onto a greased (with butter or coconut oil) cookie pan (9×9).  Bake for 25 minutes at 350’F.  Cool and chill.

Buttercream Layer

This is not really a custard; but the original Nanaimo bar custard layer isn’t really a custard either.  So go ahead and enjoy!

  • 1 1/8 cup butter, soft
  • ¼ tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/3 tbsp stevia extract (or another sweetener to taste)
  • ¼ cup coconut flour

Whip the butter in a food processor.  Add the remaining ingredients and blend well.  Spoon onto chilled crust layer and return to fridge to chill more.

Hard Chocolate Topping

  • ½ cup coconut oil
  • 3/8 cup cocoa powder
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • ½ tbsp stevia extract

Melt all ingredients together in a saucepan over low heat.  Cool slightly.  Spoon over well-chilled custard layer.  Chill further!

When the final layer is hard (about 20 minutes); cut into squares and enjoy!  Store in the refrigerator.

The first time I made these, I hadn’t perfected the custard layer and they turned out kinda like Nanaimo Cheesecake Bars.  And they were still yummy!  In fact, they are my cheesecake lovin’ husband’s prefered version.  Here’s the Cheesecake Alternative Recipe:

Cheesecake Layer (instead of custard)

  • 3/4 cup butter, soft
  • 1/8 cup almond butter (or another nut butter of your choice)
  • 1/8 cup cream cheese
  • ¼ tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/3 tbsp stevia extract (or another sweetener to taste)

Whip the butter in a food processor.  Add the remaining ingredients and blend well.  Spoon onto chilled crust layer and return to fridge to chill more.

There you go!  These little sugar-free treats are sure to please.

UPDATE: Just for Nick, my 800th commenter, here’s the nutritional date from MyNetDiary:

7 Responses to Primal Nanaimo Bars

  1. Jeff P says:

    These look tasty – and as you say appear to be very Primal, even if you added the cream cheese.
    I came across your blog while doing a search on Primal. Do you eat Paleo/Primal by nature – and if not, what is the connection?
    Thanks for providing the recipe!

    • gilliebean says:

      I do eat mostly paleo/primal. My husband does when I cook him dinner. But sometimes he adds grains prepared in a way consistent with the Weston Price milieu. I also consume dairy, but mostly raw dairy from happy, pastured cows.

      A point of clarification. I noticed on your blog that you mentioned we live in Canada. Actually, my husband and I live in Los Angeles. He’s American and I’m the Canadian. We’re both in the film industry here. :)

  2. [...] All of that will change with this recipe, I fear. [...]

  3. Nick says:

    Found this via message boards on Mark’s Daily Apple. These look truly delicious, and yes, Primal.

    Do you have the nutritional breakdown on these?
    Thank you!
    Nick

  4. I came to this recipe by searching Bing. I have to say that this looks yummy. Thanks for taking your time submitting this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

