I’LL SHOW YOU MINE

Wednesday is grocery day.  Depending on the week, I get up early (earlier than normal) and trot to Trader Joe’s.  Sometimes I head to Whole Foods or Ralph’s if necessary.  If I’m really good, I’ll make it to my local farmers’ market.  At Trader Joe’s, I typically purchase organic and local (if available).  I also try to avoid products with stuff in them I can’t pronounce (and some stuff that I can but I want to avoid).  Trader Joe’s has lots of options.

One reason why I can’t get into the habit of going to the local farmers’ markets and I’m reluctant to join a CSA (or something similar) is because I LOVE LOVE LOVE my weekly grocery trip.  When I lived in Vancouver, I signed up for a Local Organic Food Delivery Service.  Every two weeks, my basket of local, organic foods would show up at my studio apartment’s door.  But I often found myself at the grocery store on a weekly basis (often oftener), to pick up this or that.  I missed the shopping!

When I get home from my shopping trip, I have a routine.  I call Ryan from about 2 minutes away and have him (and Justin or “the intern”) come out to help me bring in the bags.  I usually have four heavy bags.  Once they’re inside, I move all the food from the bags to the counters.  Then I move them from the counters to the fridge, freezer, and cupboards.

In that lovely middle space, when the food is sitting on the counters, I like to take a brief moment to admire my bounty.  It’s usually subconscious and lasts only a few subtle seconds.  But for those brief seconds I feel somewhat like a hero coming home from a successful battle.  I enjoy the visual luxuriousness of all my spoils (yet unspoilt) spread out before me on my counter.

A while back, Time Magazine had a photo essay called What the World Eats.  It was a look at other people’s bounty on dinner tables from around the globe.  The photographs were by Peter Menzel.  I found this photo essay fascinating and enlightening.  A friend commented that he was going to buy stock in Coca-cola because of the number of photos that included the nasty stuff!  Some of those families could have made use of a good nutritionist.

Speaking of, I’m participating in the Primal Health Challenge hosted by Mark Sisson and his Worker Bees over at Mark’s Daily Apple.  The challenge has daily contests from big prizes to little ones.  One of his contests is called “Show Us Your Groceries.”   Mark found Time Magazine’s photo essay just as interesting as I did.  And he wants to see what his online community is eating!

I had wanted to shoot this photo when I first saw the Time Magazine’s photo essay but Mark is offering an opportunity to win 5lbs of fresh Kenai River Sockeye Salmon overnighted to my home!  I’m so down with that!

And today is grocery day!!  So once I got home, I put all the groceries on the counter like I normally do.  But this time I arranged them so that they all faced one direction.  I pulled stuff out of the cupboards and snatched stuff from the freezer and the fridge.  I pulled Ryan away from his work (for only 2 minutes, Justin!) and set up the timer on my Nikon D70.

What’s pictured here is more than a week’s worth of groceries.  But you get the idea!

Team Fritch's Groceries

Isn’t it gorgeous?!

Any comments or questions?

9 Responses to I’LL SHOW YOU MINE

  1. JustJoe says:

    Can you tag some of the items like a Facebook pic? That would rock.

    Is that the TJ House brand beer? (err. Gordon Biersh)

    • gilliebean says:

      Oh golly! I don’t know how to tag photos in wordpress blogs. But I can do it on a facebook version of the photo. Would that be cool? Also, if you click on it, it’ll take you to a huge version of the photo. :) And yes, that’s TJ’s beer!

  2. stephanie says:

    awesome! i want to do that at some point… i’ve seen those pictures from around the world! very interesting. :)

    • gilliebean says:

      Steph, I’d LOVE to see what you and Matt eat. Especially to see the Asian influence! :) And to see your photography too. :)

  3. Joanne wp07 says:

    Comments? You bet! What time is dinner, Gillian, and can I bring anything???

  4. Amy says:

    Oh, Gillian, I miss you! I really enjoyed reading this post and your picture. I just went to the Monterey Farmer’s Market last night and bought strawberries to make jam for my brother.

  5. sustainableeats says:

    I love this pic with you both in big 1950’s sweeping smiles!

  6. [...] year?  I did this Primal Challenge hosted by Mark’s Daily Apple.  I took pictures of my groceries and made a video about my homemade nutella!  Well, Mark is at it again and since I’m on an [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

